the Media Manager is a lot less scary than most people feel it is.
the most important tip regarding the Media Manager is to NEVER use “Use Existing” mode
if you’re trimming, or “consolidating” media, that will screw with your original media.
and if something goes wrong, there;s no going back.
Same goes for “MOVE” mode: that
l copy the media, and then delete the originals
Use “COPY” mode, and then delete the originals yourself, when you have checked everything is the way it should be.
Use the Make Offline window for this
oh, yes, another tip regarding speed modified shots.
they can get messed up by the MM, too.
if you have speed mod shots in your timeline,
track them down prior to any MM,
match frame them into the viewer (they will lose all their FX)
and cut them back into the timeline on an invisible track above the original.
this seems to tame the MM.
MM is supposed to have been fixed in V5 in regards Speed Mod shots,
but i haven’t tried it yet.
cheers,
nick