Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

Forums Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy merging projects in FCP

  • merging projects in FCP

  • Alan Lacey

    July 27, 2005 at 5:10 pm

    A colleque and myself (neither very Mac or FCP savvy) are embarking on a project that at some time in the future will need to be merged.

    He’s editing a lot of live material (DVcam mainly), I’m doing the studio stuff (D9, uncompressed for subsequent keying)

    Has anyone general advice/safeguards about how best to proceed and what problems we’re likely to encounter when we try and merge these projects.

    Thanks in advance.

    Alan

  • walter biscardi

    July 28, 2005 at 12:17 pm

    The key will be very good media management. You cannot allow the media to go all over the place on your drives or you’ll never be able to pull all the elements together.

    Once the projects are ready to be merged, you’ll either need to bring all the media together on one computer by either attaching the other person’s harddrive or transferring all the media from their harddrive to yours. Then you open both projects at the same time. At that point, you can simply drag bins and Sequences from one project to the other. At this point I would re-name the final project as the merged project to differentiate it from the original two.

    Walter Biscardi, Jr.
    Creative Genius, Biscardi Creative Media
    https://www.biscardicreative.com

    Now in Production, “The Rough Cut,” https://www.theroughcutmovie.com

    “I reject your reality and substitute my own!” – Adam Savage, Mythbusters

  • Alan Lacey

    July 28, 2005 at 1:26 pm

    Thanks Walter,

    I was hoping it was going to be that simple. I certainly was planning to make sure that all the media would remain well managed.

    Because of your, and other posts, I’ve been very reluctant to experiment with the media manager. Do you have a few ‘safe’ tips for a relative newbie to FCP (4.5)

    Alan

  • Nick Meyers

    July 30, 2005 at 6:43 am

    the Media Manager is a lot less scary than most people feel it is.

    the most important tip regarding the Media Manager is to NEVER use “Use Existing” mode

    if you’re trimming, or “consolidating” media, that will screw with your original media.
    and if something goes wrong, there;s no going back.
    Same goes for “MOVE” mode: that
    l copy the media, and then delete the originals

    Use “COPY” mode, and then delete the originals yourself, when you have checked everything is the way it should be.
    Use the Make Offline window for this

    oh, yes, another tip regarding speed modified shots.
    they can get messed up by the MM, too.
    if you have speed mod shots in your timeline,
    track them down prior to any MM,
    match frame them into the viewer (they will lose all their FX)
    and cut them back into the timeline on an invisible track above the original.
    this seems to tame the MM.

    MM is supposed to have been fixed in V5 in regards Speed Mod shots,
    but i haven’t tried it yet.

    cheers,
    nick

  • Tom Wolsky

    July 30, 2005 at 9:09 am

    It’ still pretty flakey. I was doing it on a project yesterday. It showed the wrong media values and the values wouldn’t go down. It was so weird. I had a 19 minute sequence and it kept giving me a total amount of 5.7G. I kept cutting stuff out of the sequence and it just wouldn’t go down. The original media duration and the reduced amount would never change.

  • Nick Meyers

    July 30, 2005 at 12:24 pm

    i was doing an online for someone the other day, and we had one clip that refused to trim.
    we tried all the usual such as Making sequence clips independent,
    and copying into a new project, but nothing worked.
    the clip would even show up in supposedly off-line sequences.
    then i noticed this “clip” had TC starting at zero, and no reel#
    someone had stitched together a bunch of short captures in a sequence, re-building the original entire tape,
    and exported it.
    we corrected the TC, and gave it a reel#, and everything went fine after that.

    if your media hasn’t originated on a tape, or doesn’t look like it has, then MM refuses to trim it,
    not letting you possibly delete the only copy you have.

    dont know if this helps,

    nick

Viewing 1 - 6 of 6 posts

Log in to reply.

We use anonymous cookies to give you the best experience we can.
Our Privacy policy | GDPR Policy