hey Walter
I was looking at this the other day … the long and the short of it seems to be that the specific component is not lost if you continually “upgrade” … but those who follow the clean install method would certainly lose this functionality.
Apple had a knowlegebase article about this, i’ll link it if i can dig it up
Andy