actually, while this scenario has the POTENTIAL for disaster,
there might be an easy fix.
if your friend only re-named the CLIPS, not the MEDIA, then his project would still be linked to files that have the same names as yours.
the project file should remember this,
and if the file path is identical on both systems,
then it should conect without any prompting.
for the file path to be identical, the drives have to have the same name.
maybe your frind used Media Maanger to create an offline version of the project.
this would be one rason your version has lost it’s links.
all he needs to do is to copy the relavent sequnce/s into a project and save it.
then zip of that project file (right click on the file, chose “make archive” or “compress”)
and email it to you.
now IF this opens, you can sort out the re-naming mess, using the Modify > Name functions
you can chose to modify the clip names back to the original file names,
or
change the file names to match the clip names.
this could be tricky given your RED workflow
you would do this at the same time, maybe on the phone.
nick