Actually, generally speaking, you WOULD want them to close when not the active application. Suppose you have a photo at the beginning of the timeline. You now decide you need to make a change to that photo. If Vegas closes when not active, you can start your photo application, make the changes needed, save it, and when you switch back to Vegas the changes will automatically be there.
Now you’ve switched the setting and you’re trying the same thing. You can open the file, change it, but you can’t SAVE it because Vegas has it open. So you save under a different name and change it in Vegas or you exit Vegas, save it, and restart Vegas.
Edward Troxel
