Vegas 7 defaults to having video and audio grouped, which I personally like, so deleting one will delete both.
And if you don’t like this new default, change it by deselecting Cut, copy and delete grouped events in Options – Prefs – Editing. Then it’ll act like it did in Vegas 6, etc.