I installed Resolve Lite and worked on it for a few weeks. When I needed larger than HD projects I went out and bought Resolve full.
After I had installed Resolve Lite, I had an app called DaVinci Resolve in the Applications folder. I renamed that to DaVinci Resolve Lite.
Then I installed Resolve full. So, now I have two apps in the Applications folder DaVinci Resolve Lite, and DaVinci Resolve.
I run Lite or Full depending on the kind of project I need to work on. In either, all projects are visible. Any project that starts in Resolve full won’t open in Resolve Lite. Any project that starts in Resolve Lite opens fine in Resolve full. But I don’t mix the two.
When an upgrade is available, I download both Lite and Full. I backup the database, just in case.
Then, I first run the full installer and uninstall the full version. Then rename the DaVinci Resolve Lite app back to DaVinci Resolve. Then I run the Lite installer and uninstall the Lite version.
Next, I install Resolve Lite. So again I have an app called DaVinci Resolve in the Applications folder. I rename that to DaVinci Resolve Lite.
Then I install Resolve full. This gives me an App called DaVinci Resolve in the Applications folder. So, now I have two apps in the Applications folder DaVinci Resolve Lite, and DaVinci Resolve. As before, I run Lite or Full depending on the kind of project I need to work on. In either, all projects are visible.
I’ve done this since v 8.2 and through all the upgrades and it works just fine. I have no users created in Resolve and all my projects are in Admin. I’m doing this on a MacPro with 16 GB RAM and a Quadro 4000 card installed.
As in any such things, YMMV.
———————————–
Neil Sadwelkar
neilsadwelkar.blogspot.com
twitter: fcpguru
FCP Editor, Edit systems consultant
Mumbai India