Rendered preview files serve only for preview or export to DV tape. If you dont need them, delete em.
Also if you have a lot of excess footage that wont be used in the project, the Project Manager can consolidate your assests, but you will need , at least temporarily a lot of hard drive space to create this folder and then delete the original DV files.