Forum Replies Created

Page 88 of 812
  • Mike Kujbida

    October 27, 2013 at 10:11 pm in reply to: Flicker transition effect

    Those look like light leaks or film burns to me.
    Here are links to two sites with free ones to download and play with as well as a tutorial from the second site.

    https://vegasaur.com/free-light-leaks

    https://www.cutestockfootage.com/members/categories.php

    https://www.cutestockfootage.com/pages/using-light-leaks-and-overlays-in-sony-vegas.html

  • Mike Kujbida

    October 27, 2013 at 6:00 pm in reply to: “Drawing” a graph in Vegas Pro 11

    Søren, I ‘m sure there’s more than one way to do it but what I did was take your map into Photoshop, paint out the lines and arrow, add them to their own layers, save them separately and bring them into Vegas.
    Once there, I staggered each layer by one second and added the appropriate transition.
    The attached file (done in Pro 10) has the veg file and individual graphic layers.

    6682_graph.zip

  • Mike Kujbida

    October 27, 2013 at 1:30 pm in reply to: Adding simple animation to Vegas Pro video

    Søren, I don’t know if it will be any help but here’s a veg file that I had in my collection. It works in Pro 8, 9 and 10. Have fun with it.
    6679_cubewshadow.veg.zip

  • Mike Kujbida

    October 24, 2013 at 7:37 pm in reply to: Slight movement of Event

    Rob, my guess is that you have the Quantize to Frames tool (found under the Options menu) disabled. Having this enabled ensures that frames can be moved ONLY in complete frame steps.
    In your example, the two events (what Vegas calls a clip) should be perfectly lined up with each other. If they aren’t, correct this error and try again.

    “how will I be able to splice it in the proper places. Doesn’t splicing follow the same rules…….i.e. on a frame??”

    If by splicing you mean cutting or splitting, then yes, it will happen on a frame IF you have Quantize to Frames enabled as it will not allow you to split/splice/cut on anything other than a frame. Disable it and you can cut anywhere you want which, as I said earlier, you do NOT want to do with video.

    FYI, audio for video ideally gets cut on a frame boundary as well but there are times when you need to shift and audio event a portion of a frame.
    For example, I record a lot of stage plays and have a feed from the audio board on track 1 and a shotgun for ambient on track 2. Depending on what I want it to sound like, I will shift track 2’s audio around a wee bit until I like the sound it creates.

  • Mike Kujbida

    October 24, 2013 at 4:02 pm in reply to: Slight movement of Event

    You do NOT want to do that.
    Video is unlike audio in that it MUST start and end on a frame boundary.
    By moving it off of this boundary, you are asking for problems down the road.
    If a video event does not start or end on a frame boundary, then trim it so that it does.
    You can find this out very easily by parking the cursor at what appears to be the beginning or end of an event.
    Use the left or right arrow key to step forward or backward one frame.
    If it doesn’t line up, then trim it so that it does.
    NOTE: make sure that have Ripple Editing disabled when you’re doing this.

  • Mike Kujbida

    October 22, 2013 at 11:54 am in reply to: Using VMS 12 and Sound Forge

    [Rick Hughes] “that option is already ticked”

    Try saving it in Sound Forge and see if it shows up in your Vegas Media Tab as original filename take 2.wav (it should be there).

  • Mike Kujbida

    October 22, 2013 at 11:21 am in reply to: VHS restore – filters

    John Meyer has written extensively about this on the Sony Vegas forum.
    Here’s just one of his excellent posts on the matter.

    My “ultimate” VHS tape restoration recipe

  • Mike Kujbida

    October 22, 2013 at 11:13 am in reply to: Using VMS 12 and Sound Forge

    [Rick Hughes] “when I return to Vegas the timeline shows “Media offline””

    Options > Preferences > General > Close media files when not the active application.
    If this option is not selected, click on it, restart VMS and try again.

  • Mike Kujbida

    October 22, 2013 at 11:08 am in reply to: Using VMS 12 and Sound Forge

    [Rick Hughes] ” how can I tell which is active”

    To see what I had on my screenshots, use View > Active Take Information.
    Ctrl+shift+i is the shortcut key.

  • Mike Kujbida

    October 21, 2013 at 12:29 am in reply to: Master Audio control workaround Pro 11

    Duplicate the event as that will double the volume.
    However, if the volume is that low, any boosting you do is going to increase the background noise substantially.
    If you don’t have tools like Sound Forge or iZotope, try Audacity (it’s free) for noise reduction which you will need.

Page 88 of 812

We use anonymous cookies to give you the best experience we can.
Our Privacy policy | GDPR Policy