Here’s what I have learned. The autosave functions saves a project file every 5 mins unless you have disabled it in options preferences. If Vegas shuts down unexpectly, the last autosave will try to reopen the project the next time Vegas is started. But!!!! If Vegas is closed correctly, no crash, no lockup, etc.. the autosave file is automatically erased.
So a vegas user has 3 files to try when opening a project. The primary file- .veg, the backup file .veg.bak, and the autosave file created the last time Vegas crashed. My probelem is that Vegas actually closed correctly with no hint of a problem, hence the most recent autosave was erased.
Think of the Irony. If Vegas hadn’t crashed 2 days ago I probably would have lost all my work.
I tried your suggestions, thank you. No luck.
Can anyone explain why the error window I see when the project fails to load does not include the “DETAILS” button? All I am getting is the error message and a “OK” button. The error window always had a “DETAILS” in past and it might help me with this issue today.