Kevin Monahan
Forum Replies Created
-
-
Is the deck on the list of approved devices?
Kevin Monahan
Take My FCP Master’s Workshop!
fcpworld.com -
Composite Out to Ref Video in? What are you feeding the Beta SP with for video signal then? You’ve got to feed it S-Vid or Composite In from the SVHS camcorder’s composite or S-video out. Or am I missing something here.
Why are you feeding Composite out to Ref Vid in anyway?
Kevin Monahan
Take My FCP Master’s Workshop!
fcpworld.com -
Window>Show Movie Properties
click on the video tab
click on the check box which says High Quality.Hope that helps you. These directions should be
widely known, but they are not and end up confusing
a lot of people.Directions to the high quality button should be a giant
sticker on the install software me thinks. 😉Kevin Monahan
Take My FCP Master’s Workshop!
fcpworld.com -
Kevin Monahan
May 14, 2006 at 10:27 pm in reply to: PLEASE HELP. Importing .mov files with text into FCP – text distortsIt’s probably fine. Since you haven’t filled out your profile, I have NO idea what kind of system you have, so that would be a helpful way to start things off.
My guess is that you are not using a proper NTSC or PAL video monitor as you work and that you are being fooled by viewing a non-square pixel composition in a square pixel computer monitor.
Answer: Hook up a proper video monitor and tell us how it looks there and NOT on the computer.
Kevin Monahan
Take My FCP Master’s Workshop!
fcpworld.com -
This goofy technique is actually listed in my book. Go figger! 😉
Kevin Monahan
Take My FCP Master’s Workshop!
fcpworld.com -
Kelly,
If you set up your FCP system w/o looking at the manual, you probably don’t have your speakers connected properly.Connect your speakers to the deck/camcorder and not the Mac. Connect the NTSC monitor to the deck/camcorder as well. Make sure that the View Menu is set to External Video>All Frames.
The only problem with the “spec” setup is that audio from your Mac may also need to be routed to the same speakers, right?
In that case, I have a small mixer set up to my speakers. I feed the deck/camcorder’s cables and a cable from the mac to the mixer so I can have both a spec audio setup for FCP and can run iTunes, Soundtrack the same way.
If you can’t afford a mixer, a small Y-adapter cable from radio shack will do the trick.
Kevin Monahan
Take My FCP Master’s Workshop!
fcpworld.com -
Check the high quality flag in QT’s Window>Show Movie Properties dialog.
A common oversight that freaks out many of the unknowing.
Kevin Monahan
Take My FCP Master’s Workshop!
fcpworld.com -
Scott, check this out: from apple.com
Film Support:
Cinema Tools 3 included
Support for 35mm 3-perf, 35mm 4-perf, and 16mm-20
Comprehensive, integrated film management tools
View Feet and Frames in Timeline
View keycode and ink number overlays on video in Final Cut Pro
Film data information in Final Cut Pro Browser
24-fps EDL I/O
24-fps EDL conversion to and from 29.97 fps
Import ALE, ATN, FLX, and FTL files in both Cinema Tools and Final Cut Pro
Track key numbers, ink numbers, video and audio timecode
Output the following lists:
Cut list
Change list
Optical list
Pull list
Dupe list
Missing elements list
Audio EDL
Link media to database
Synchronize database with Final Cut Pro
View film data directly in Final Cut Pro
Search and sort
Poster frame capability
Conform clips to specified frame rate
Reverse telecine function in either Cinema Tools or Final Cut Pro
Export ALE files
Import and export Final Cut Pro batch listsKevin Monahan
Take My FCP Master’s Workshop!
fcpworld.com -
With FCP 5, can’t you import the ALE into FCP and batch directly from there? I don’t think the XML boogie is necessary at all.
Kevin Monahan
Take My FCP Master’s Workshop!
fcpworld.com