Hi Craig. When you say “retrieve a clip after you changed it” I’m assuming you mean call up an old version of the sequence? If you went into the Attic and couldn’t find an old enough version, check your settings tab…(not infront of my machine right now, so guessing the actual tab) Bin settings? There are Attic settings, where you can set the number of items in the attic, and the number of copies of any particular sequence in the attic. Make sure your numbers are high enough to allow for several copies to be saved.
When I bring in stuff from the Attic, i usually copy 2 or 3 to the desktop, rename them something like “oops”, “oops2” and “oops3”. I load each one individually into the program to decide which is going back far enough. Then i can delete my original bin – that “oops” is going to replace, and rename oops to its original name. I like keeping my bins clean, with no duplicates.
As far as project management. For Tutorial purposes, the easiest thing would probably be to simpy make a new project, and start again.
Im assuming by getting back to normal, you mean square 1?
It sounds like you did the correct sequence to delete your project…
To delete a project, you don’t really need to delete the attic, although keeping things clean is never a bad idea. You should be able to run your media tool, to help you identify the media associated with the project, and delete that media. You could also simply select the media from within the bins of your project, and delete them right there. Make sure to select all the delete options, or you may just delete the clips in the bin, but not the actual media associated with it.
The actual project can just be deleted by finding your Avid Projects folder on your hard drive and deleting it right there. When you reboot Avid, that project will no longer exist…and you can start again.
If you want to do an uninstal, there is an uninstaller in the application section. It will help you do a full uninstall. You shouldn’t need to reinstall just to get a project back to the basics though. Again, if nothing else, just create a new project and call it Version 2.
Glenn