Actually I did throw away the media. I captured, not an hour, but 20 minutes of material. I made a number of different projects in which I treated the media differently. I then quit the application and trashed the media from the hard drive. It was no longer accessible. I then ran the media manager tests.
Unfortunately if you run the create offline function before you trash the media you’ll get the correct result. You’ll get a batch capture that only includes the media you edited. The procedure has to be edit your material, media manage and create your offline and then trash your media. Then you’ll have a project file that will have the limited media. Or if you edited with subclips or logged and captured, then at worst you’ll have to captured the used clips and the unused clips or subclips will not have to be recaptured.