Are you opening the clip by double-clicking it on the timeline? Or from the bin? That will happen if you do it from the timeline, because you would essentially be changing the current in/out on the clip on the timeline. Make sense?
If you’re opening from the bin, then I’m not sure what’s happening. Never had it happen that way.
TC