Steven Gonzales
Forum Replies Created
-
Steven Gonzales
February 9, 2007 at 9:42 pm in reply to: entire timeline affected by zooming in on a few shotsActually, my answer above wasn’t quite right. When you crop a shot on the timeline, it seems to affect only that shot. If you crop a sequence within a sequence (a nested sequence) it affects the whole thing.
To get rid of cropping, select the item in the timeline by control click, then select “open in viewer”. Go to the motion tab of that viewer, and click the red X’s to reset motion parameters.
-
Sounds like you have more HDV experience than I do.
Can you dub the offending shot onto another HDV device perhaps?
-
Steven Gonzales
February 9, 2007 at 8:08 pm in reply to: entire timeline affected by zooming in on a few shotsDouble click on the shot that you want to modify, and that will open the timeline verion of that shot in the viewer. Then you can modify that shot there.
If you modify in the canvas, that affects the entire timeline.
-
On some HDV cameras, the group of pictures is not terminated when the camera cuts. If you have a really short shot, the datastream may not be able to recover in time to catch the clip.
Are there breaks in time between your other capture now clips of several seconds? This would be a good indication that the format is the issue.
For HDV, it’s a good idea to preroll 10 seconds and postroll 10 seconds for each shot, just to be sure of capturing the entire usable shot, especially when using JVC cameras.
-
I believe that the serial number on the spash screen is incomplete.
-
Steven Gonzales
February 8, 2007 at 5:13 pm in reply to: Post workflow for feature on Varicam for Russian ProducerHow are you finishing? I think it’s best to find out what you are delivering and work backwards.
-
I’m that editor, and thanks for the mention.
We were the first feature shot on film and finished on film using FCP 1 and Film Logic (now Cinema Tools). We actually started on Premiere, but that wasn’t working for us so we jumped to FCP. We were a 35mm film, but the process works for 16 also.
For anyone wanting info beyond the manual, try to find Sean Cullen and Walter Murch talking to user groups (often on DVD from LAFCPUG) — such as October 2005 about Jarhead https://www.lafcpug.org/store.html#anchor812702 and Feb 25 2004 about Cold Mountain (if that DVD is still out there).
Also, though it is dated, Behind the Seen gives some good technical info (though it wrongly does not mention George Washington as the first FCP feature film).
-
Steven Gonzales
February 3, 2007 at 8:34 pm in reply to: ULTRA – moving FCP files from MacBookPro OSX to ULTRA on BootcampIf you don’t mind spending a little money, you could use a product like MacDrive to allow the PC side to see mac files.
https://www.mediafour.com/products/macdrive6/bootcamp.asp
-
Maybe your USB drive is the problem. The transfer rate of USB drives is not consistent, so if those renders are playing out and losing sync, maybe that’s the issue.
Here’s another COW article about this, since I’ve never used USB for a drive interface. It might be okay for business data, but for audio / video I don’t think so.
https://forums.creativecow.net/readpost/8/921050
-
I think you might be able to set up each project by logging on to the operating system as a different user (which would give them different preferences files) and then use fast user switching to login to a different ‘user space’ for each project.
I haven’t tried this, but it should work.
From Mac Help:
You can turn on “fast user switching” to allow more than one user to stay logged in to a computer at a time. For example, if you’re working on a spreadsheet of financial data and your daughter begs to check for iChat AV messages, you can switch to your daughter’s account. When she’s done checking for messages, you can switch back to your account and your spreadsheet is right where you left it.
When fast user switching is turned on, the name of the current user is displayed in the upper-right corner of the menu bar. You can click the name to select another user to switch to. If the other user’s account doesn’t require a password, the computer switches automatically to the new user’s home folder. Otherwise, you see a dialog asking for the user’s password.