Here’s my thread on this from the linkedin premiere group:
Project panel tabs
Robert Withers Pharma-Medical Copywriting and Media
I notice in the Media Browser/Project Panel that the Project tabs keep duplicating, so that I end up with several Project tabs that all have the same same and seem to have the same contents.
Why is this happening and can I turn it off?
I’ve searched through Preferences and several books and Adobe.com without results.
Thanks.
Adobe adobe.com
Adobe is changing the world through digital experiences. We help our customers create, deliver, and optimize content and applications.
Like
Comment (6)
Unfollow
6 months ago
Comments
6 comments
Denis
Denis D
Freelance Videographer/Editor/DVD Author & Certified Legal Videographer, Ad Hoc Video Services LLC
I’ve never run into this problem.
Are you using CS6? CC?
Without knowing more details, I’d suggest you look at Edit/Preferences as a starting point.
Like (1)
Reply privately
Flag as inappropriate
6 months ago
Gerald Hubacek likes this
Steven Gotz
Steven
Steven Gotz
Senior Business System Technician at Windstream
There are three things that can happen with bins. If you doubleclick, if you Ctrl-Click and if you Alt-Click. As you can see in the image I have linked to, you may have the doubleclick set to “Open new tab”. The way I have them is the default, I believe.
As Denis stated, look in your preferences.
https://www.stevengotz.com/images/pref-bins.png
Like (1)
Reply privately
Flag as inappropriate
6 months ago
Gerald Hubacek likes this
Ernie Zinger
Ernie
Ernie Zinger
President, Traveling Matte, Inc.
What may be happening is that you closed a project with multiple bins open. When you then started a new project, Premiere remembered the state of your windows when you last closed. It opened the new project with all windows in previous positions, but with no media, defaulted to Project tabs.
Like
Reply privately
Flag as inappropriate
6 months ago
Robert Withers
Robert Withers
Pharma-Medical Copywriting and Media
Thanks Steven and all. I thought this was in Preferences but wouldn’t have guessed it was under Bins. It’s so hard to look these things up in books and resources if you don’t already know the answer:-)
Delete
6 months ago
Gerald Hubacek likes this
Keith Dadey
Keith
Keith Dadey
Senior Video Editor/Director of Photography at Dadey Video Productions, Ltd.
I have the same very annoying thing happen all the time, particularly on shared projects. I do not see that the preference for opening bins has anything to do with it. If Adobe could warn you that “that bin is already open” it would help.
Like (1)
Reply privately
Flag as inappropriate
6 months ago
Gerald Hubacek likes this
Tim Kolb
Tim
Tim Kolb
Video Director/Post Production
Top Contributor
The preference for opening bins is the ONLY thing that has to do with it.
If the way you would normally open a bin happens to be the command the preferences have for “open in new tab”, then you create a new tab every time you do this…then, since you really didn’t see this was happening, you keep navigating up, but since you’re in the new tab, the next bin you open creates another new tab, etc, etc.
If the editor doesn’t like this, the editor can easily change the preference to “open in place”.
In Preferences, the General tab, it’s labeled “Bins” (common NLE term for project clip directories since the dawn on NLEs in the late 80’s/early 90’s based on editing film).
Everyone wants some different behavior with almost every part of video editing software, but each person seems to think that the way they individually use the software is the only way it makes sense for everyone…and that’s simply not the case. I use, and see plenty of merit in the current default state of this function, but since I know it’s happening, I leave the tabs I’m opening on the bin I’ve opened and click back into the original tab to see the root project directory, so I end up with each tab showing inside a different bin.
Robert Withers
Independent/personal/avant-garde cinema, New York City