Here, I think, may be a clue:
“Even when I do minute changes to the menus only, and save the project under the same name, the contents in the main folder is deleted immediately when I select ‘Create Disc’. ”
Which folder are you referring to? The original project folder, or the new project folder created when you did a SaveAs?