Angelo Lorenzo
Forum Replies Created
-
Angelo Lorenzo
November 11, 2012 at 10:15 pm in reply to: Will this MacBook Pro work for Adobe Master Collection?It’s dubious. I have a 2006-07 MBP with 2gigs of RAM and a 2.33mHz processor and it’s barely passable for work in the field. I rely on my desktop for heavy lifting. I’m usually editing 1080p footage of various codecs.
You’ll get better performance if you use an intermediate codec like ProRes, Avid DNxHD, or GoPro Cineform.
The extra RAM will help with After Effects predominately, but I wouldn’t expect blazing speeds on export. I would also consider moving to CS6 because of the Global Cache, I think it’ll make the best of your setup because you can avoid re-rendering frames in After Effects as often.
Just some thoughts off the top of my head.
Angelo Lorenzo
Love my answer? Do me a huge favor and check out my Kickstarter project The Librarian, starring Jennie Garth of Beverly Hills 90210.
Fallen Empire Digital Production Services – Los Angeles
RED transcoding, on-set DIT, and RED Epic rental services
Fallen Empire – The Blog
A blog dedicated to filmmaking, the RED workflow, and DIT tips and tricks -
A full 3d program, maybe with a little editing support from an NLE (Final Cut, Premiere, and so on).
I would assume something industry standard… Maya is my guess.
Angelo Lorenzo
Love my answer? Do me a huge favor and check out my Kickstarter project The Librarian, starring Jennie Garth of Beverly Hills 90210.
Fallen Empire Digital Production Services – Los Angeles
RED transcoding, on-set DIT, and RED Epic rental services
Fallen Empire – The Blog
A blog dedicated to filmmaking, the RED workflow, and DIT tips and tricks -
I use the same process. Regardless of other workflow issues, you’ll be limited to using a noise print per microphone. A noise print is just that, a print. Each microphone, even of the same model will have different variations in frequency response, gain level, and distance/direction from noise source.
I’m not sure if there is an easier way… it’s just a little brute work.
Angelo Lorenzo
Love my answer? Do me a huge favor and check out my Kickstarter project The Librarian, starring Jennie Garth of Beverly Hills 90210.
Fallen Empire Digital Production Services – Los Angeles
RED transcoding, on-set DIT, and RED Epic rental services
Fallen Empire – The Blog
A blog dedicated to filmmaking, the RED workflow, and DIT tips and tricks -
Angelo Lorenzo
November 10, 2012 at 7:45 pm in reply to: Speedgrade as a Conform Utility for PremiereAt the very least, both of our analysis of the subject leads to the same conclusion:
1) Premiere needs a “this is an image sequence” checkbox when replacing media. That solves the majority of the headache. This box is missing if you try to link a clip (created by an EDL, but in general as well) to an image sequence, or if you use the replace footage command in the bin.
2) Premiere needs to look at other metadata like reel and timecode to help automate the link/replace which would make relinking large products less of a hassle. Perhaps an integration of the “Reload from folder” feature in Speedgrade.
I’m putting a feature request in for both.
Angelo Lorenzo
Love my answer? Do me a huge favor and check out my Kickstarter project The Librarian, starring Jennie Garth of Beverly Hills 90210.
Fallen Empire Digital Production Services – Los Angeles
RED transcoding, on-set DIT, and RED Epic rental services
Fallen Empire – The Blog
A blog dedicated to filmmaking, the RED workflow, and DIT tips and tricks -
Angelo Lorenzo
November 10, 2012 at 7:55 am in reply to: Speedgrade as a Conform Utility for PremiereHonestly, you got me stumped. Premiere can’t relink or load image sequences on its own; bringing in an EDL is useless at that point no matter what program it comes from. The only way I can see it working is how you have it: Conform in After Effects with the help of the immigration script and File > Export > Premiere Pro Project.
I do agree with you, conforming is terrible currently. Speedgrade helps, but I’d hate to tackle a feature on Premiere because of it.
Angelo Lorenzo
Love my answer? Do me a huge favor and check out my Kickstarter project The Librarian, starring Jennie Garth of Beverly Hills 90210.
Fallen Empire Digital Production Services – Los Angeles
RED transcoding, on-set DIT, and RED Epic rental services
Fallen Empire – The Blog
A blog dedicated to filmmaking, the RED workflow, and DIT tips and tricks -
Angelo Lorenzo
November 10, 2012 at 12:11 am in reply to: premiere pro shows wrong background in imported AE-compositionIn After Effects, does the alpha channel look normal? Should be pure white. Premiere’s background color is black, so I’m wondering if it’s a transparency issue.
Angelo Lorenzo
Love my answer? Do me a huge favor and check out my Kickstarter project The Librarian, starring Jennie Garth of Beverly Hills 90210.
Fallen Empire Digital Production Services – Los Angeles
RED transcoding, on-set DIT, and RED Epic rental services
Fallen Empire – The Blog
A blog dedicated to filmmaking, the RED workflow, and DIT tips and tricks -
Angelo Lorenzo
November 9, 2012 at 11:11 pm in reply to: Speedgrade as a Conform Utility for PremiereYou may want to look into using DaVinci Resolve for the time being and let it be the final stop. With Resolve you can re-conform new footage based on timecode (You can with Speedgrade too if I recall, reload the reel) which takes care of reconforming effects shots. Resolve also has ColorTrace which will apply one timeline’s color grade to another timeline based on timecode, something I don’t believe Speedgrade has a function for.
Angelo Lorenzo
Love my answer? Do me a huge favor and check out my Kickstarter project The Librarian, starring Jennie Garth of Beverly Hills 90210.
Fallen Empire Digital Production Services – Los Angeles
RED transcoding, on-set DIT, and RED Epic rental services
Fallen Empire – The Blog
A blog dedicated to filmmaking, the RED workflow, and DIT tips and tricks -
Go to Menu > Edit > Preferences > Media, and make sure “Write XMP ID to files on Import” is checked.
Try it by going to a clip in your library/bin and replacing footage with the same clip. See if it only conforms once.
Angelo Lorenzo
Love my answer? Do me a huge favor and check out my Kickstarter project The Librarian, starring Jennie Garth of Beverly Hills 90210.
Fallen Empire Digital Production Services – Los Angeles
RED transcoding, on-set DIT, and RED Epic rental services
Fallen Empire – The Blog
A blog dedicated to filmmaking, the RED workflow, and DIT tips and tricks -
Try Menu > Project > Remove Unused. Besides removing unused clips (a hassle if you’re still in rough cut) it also straightens some things out within the save file when it comes to cross references between file and timeline, and so on. If one of these references went bad, it could be what is upsetting your project.
Angelo Lorenzo
Fallen Empire Digital Production Services – Los Angeles
RED transcoding, on-set DIT, and RED Epic rental services
Fallen Empire – The Blog
A blog dedicated to filmmaking, the RED workflow, and DIT tips and tricks -
Angelo Lorenzo
November 9, 2012 at 7:15 pm in reply to: Will Adobe CS 5/6 have the same workflow in Windows 8? Ex: Can I drag footage from PR to AE?If it’s your work computer, I would probably wait a good 6 months before upgrading because of driver stability, like Joseph mentions.
With that said, Windows 8 does have a desktop — The tile interface IS the interface, but you can also run a desktop. If that ever becomes an issue you can still click on something, begin to drag it (so it locks to your mouse) and alt-tab to your other program. I doubt very much that Microsoft changed alt-tab functionality.
Angelo Lorenzo
Fallen Empire Digital Production Services – Los Angeles
RED transcoding, on-set DIT, and RED Epic rental services
Fallen Empire – The Blog
A blog dedicated to filmmaking, the RED workflow, and DIT tips and tricks