In the past, with the Final Cut Studio, I would simply rename my app file with a unique name so that the new installer would simply create a new file and NOT delete the old one. I did this with the CS series too. I ALWAYS ran both the old version and the new updated version, at least for a while.
In fact, I just deleted all CS 5.1 versions from our computers today as we upgrade to Mavericks.
Isn’t the renaming workflow viable with the CC versions? In other words, by simply renaming the old app file will the new installer create a new app file? Then you could run both and dip your toes into the new stuff without breaking the tried and true installation so you can get work done!
Rich Rubasch
Tilt Media Inc.
Video Production, Post, Studio Sound Stage
Founder/President/Editor/Designer/Animator
https://www.tiltmedia.com