Mike Clasby
Forum Replies Created
-
Mike Clasby
April 12, 2006 at 1:57 am in reply to: trying to create a weathered stamp look on my impact font……Roughen Edges (I like Spiky) would help on the edges and might erode bits from the middle if fiddled with.
-
This is probably closest, see Andew’s post near the bottom:
From an Advanced Seach at the Cow (Green Left Column):
Terms: Ayato 49 Illustrator
How farar back Do you wan to search?: All Active Posts
Search Archives: Yes
Do the above search without the Illustrator and you get lots of help, other solutions for the grid with Photoshop, or AE.
-
This is probably closest, see Andew’s post near the bottom:
From an Advanced Seach at the Cow (Green Left Column):
Terms: Ayato 49 Illustrator
How farar back Do you wan to search?: All Active Posts
Search Archives: Yes
Do the above search without the Illustrator and you get lots of help, other solutions for the grid with Photoshop, or AE.
-
Three Options –
Joe Chao, Create A Text Stream:
And this by Ayato:
https://www.ayatoweb.com/ae_tips_e/ae49_e.html
Do an Advanced Search (Ayato 49) here at the Cow for details to execute as Ayato can be confusing.
Or probably easiest of all, by Ebberts:
https://www.creativecow.net/show.php?page=/articles/ebberts_dan/particle_gen/index.html
And then pick a comp, say fountain or moving emitter (or choose one of the Explosion Comps if you want your words to explode onto the page), and with Effect > Basic Text, put a word, phrase, formula on one of
Dan’s particle layers, then dup that layer as many times as you want that word. Oh and delete the other particle layers unless you want Dan’s twinkles mixed in. You can fly though these particles with a camera as they’re true AE 3D layers.If you want to use an expression to automate mixing words from a group of words
(or other string, like formulas) try this expression on the Source Text (property of the Text Tool):s = “honesty,integrity,loyalty,compassion,empathy”;
holdTime = .5; //time to hold each position (seconds)
seed = Math.floor(time/holdTime);
seedRandom(seed,true);
s.split(“,”)[Math.round(random(0,4))]Put your words in for, “honesty,integrity,loyalty,compassion,empathy”.
holdTime to something like 1000 to keep the same word, otherwise it chooses a new one after holdTime expires.
Note: If you have say ten(10) words of your own, change the last line of the expression to:
s.split(“,”)[Math.round(random(0,9))]
The (0,9) means choose one of the ten words available (javascript starts at 0, not one).
Also the “,” (commas) separate the words, anything between the commas is a unit.
Anway this expression on a text layer, dupped as many times as you want gives a mix of that many layers chosen from you word string(list).Hope this makes sense. It’s all a hack from Dan’s expressions here:
https://www.motionscript.com/mastering-expressions/random-1.html
and here:
https://www.creativecow.net/articles/ebberts_dan/ae6_exp/index2.html
-
Three Options –
Joe Chao, Create A Text Stream:
And this by Ayato:
https://www.ayatoweb.com/ae_tips_e/ae49_e.html
Do an Advanced Search (Ayato 49) here at the Cow for details to execute as Ayato can be confusing.
Or probably easiest of all, by Ebberts:
https://www.creativecow.net/show.php?page=/articles/ebberts_dan/particle_gen/index.html
And then pick a comp, say fountain or moving emitter (or choose one of the Explosion Comps if you want your words to explode onto the page), and with Effect > Basic Text, put a word, phrase, formula on one of
Dan’s particle layers, then dup that layer as many times as you want that word. Oh and delete the other particle layers unless you want Dan’s twinkles mixed in. You can fly though these particles with a camera as they’re true AE 3D layers.If you want to use an expression to automate mixing words from a group of words
(or other string, like formulas) try this expression on the Source Text (property of the Text Tool):s = “honesty,integrity,loyalty,compassion,empathy”;
holdTime = .5; //time to hold each position (seconds)
seed = Math.floor(time/holdTime);
seedRandom(seed,true);
s.split(“,”)[Math.round(random(0,4))]Put your words in for, “honesty,integrity,loyalty,compassion,empathy”.
holdTime to something like 1000 to keep the same word, otherwise it chooses a new one after holdTime expires.
Note: If you have say ten(10) words of your own, change the last line of the expression to:
s.split(“,”)[Math.round(random(0,9))]
The (0,9) means choose one of the ten words available (javascript starts at 0, not one).
Also the “,” (commas) separate the words, anything between the commas is a unit.
Anway this expression on a text layer, dupped as many times as you want gives a mix of that many layers chosen from you word string(list).Hope this makes sense. It’s all a hack from Dan’s expressions here:
https://www.motionscript.com/mastering-expressions/random-1.html
and here:
https://www.creativecow.net/articles/ebberts_dan/ae6_exp/index2.html
-
Trails:
https://www.motionscript.com/mastering-expressions/follow-the-leader.html
https://www.petewarden.com/index.htm
Pete’s Kaleidascope is the bomb and all are feeebie’s.
-
Trails:
https://www.motionscript.com/mastering-expressions/follow-the-leader.html
https://www.petewarden.com/index.htm
Pete’s Kaleidascope is the bomb and all are feeebie’s.
-
If you already have Invigorator, but not the time and/or skills to make a specific ball, Serge (head above, and ethical IMHO because he’s not plugging himself) has a nice set of pre-made sports equipment, many balls included, here:
And another tack
If Curt Murphy can create his Glass Globe:
https://library.creativecow.net/articles/murphy_kurt/glass_globe.php
You should be able to use the same technique (beginning) to put a ball texture (I agree this part can be tricky)on a sphere with CC Sphere and rotate away.
-
Mike Clasby
April 6, 2006 at 9:21 pm in reply to: How to disable the layer from opening when you double click it in a compGood to know. Thanks.
-
“…for Photoshop to read a series of targas and apply the filter so that they can be imported as a numbered sequence in AfterEffects”
Put the targas in a folder and in PS, make an action of what filters you want to apply, then File>Automate>Batch and choose the aforementioned action.
When I use PS for its filters I usually export a Filmstrip (.flm) of the clip or layer from AE, then import that into PS, run the filter and re-import the Filmstrip into AE.
In the Render Queue, Output Module, Format>Filmstrip.
Either works to get your stuff processed with PS filters..