Forum Replies Created

Page 161 of 255
  • Hi David,

    Seems like the drives all being pretty full could be part of the issue. Are they all defragged? That can really mess things up if badly fragged. May not have enough free space to even defrag though. Could also try cleaning the Media Cache database (Edit > Preferences > Media).

    Is the GPU Acceleration enabled in Premiere? Project > Project Settings > General

    Jeff Pulera
    Safe Harbor Computers

  • Good question, but no, changing the Indexing setting will not harm existing data. Indexing simply means that Windows is constantly accessing the drive to build it’s “index” that would aid in using the “Search” function. We don’t want the drive being accessed by Windows though when capturing/playing back video streams, because we want maximum performance.

    Jeff Pulera
    Safe Harbor Computers

  • Hi David,

    You’re on the wrong track – SSD drives are not suitable/recommended for video editing for various reasons, limit it to a boot drive.

    We don’t know anything about your PC hardware, or the material you are editing. Many possible reasons for performance issues. Please let us know your setup and what issues you are seeing.

    At least, go to My Computer and Right-click the non-OS drives and check Properties – you will want “Indexing” set to OFF as this slows things down. Also, keep drives defragged and less than 80% full.

    Thanks

    Jeff Pulera
    Safe Harbor Computers

  • Hi Matt,

    There may be an easy fix without having to set up Mattes or Masks. This will only apply if the cameras are locked down – if moving, then forget this method.

    Use Frame Grab in Premiere to get a frame from the video, then go into Photoshop and “erase” everything but the desk, and save the .psd with transparent background. Bring that into Premiere and place over keyed video! I have done this to remove undesirable elements from a scene, should be invisible as long as lighting and camera position remain consistent.

    Thanks

    Jeff Pulera
    Safe Harbor Computers

  • Jeff Pulera

    October 17, 2012 at 2:32 pm in reply to: ProRes in CS6 – not happy?

    I’ve not had any issues playing ProRes clips in CS6 on the PC, and in fact have NOT had to do any special codec installs. If QuickTime is installed, you should automatically have ProRes support. Make sure Premiere is updated to latest, might be a bug fix.

    Thanks

    Jeff Pulera
    Safe Harbor Computers

  • Jeff Pulera

    October 16, 2012 at 2:12 pm in reply to: bluray project smaller than used files

    Whether burning a DVD or Blu-ray, Encore does not simply take your original video clips from the camera (or Premiere)and throw them on the disc – the material has to be transcoded to a compatible format to meet the DVD or Blu-ray specifications.

    If you want more control over the size/quality of what is going to disc, you can use File > Export > Media from inside Premiere and export to “H.264 for Blu-ray”. The resulting files will then be ready for Encore without need for further transcoding. But you will need to educate yourself somehow on what the settings mean and such before trying this route.

    Please watch some Encore tutorials online, read the HELP files, etc. to get a better understanding of the process.

    Thanks

    Jeff Pulera
    Safe Harbor Computers

  • Jeff Pulera

    September 28, 2012 at 7:11 pm in reply to: reversing play direction of a clip

    Right-click clip on timeline, then from menu –

    Speed/Duration > Reverse Speed

    Jeff Pulera
    Safe Harbor Computers

  • Hi Bradley,

    To clarify, in Encore “Build” area, rather than build to disc, build to IMAGE, and this creates an .iso file which is a snapshot of the disc which can then be burned with most any program that will burn an .iso to disc.

    This should include any version of Encore – just go to Build, and select from “Image” rather than “Project” and then Browse to the .iso file.

    Since .iso is a standard kind of file, Encore version should not matter, .iso has nothing to do with Adobe in particular.

    Thanks

    Jeff Pulera
    Safe Harbor Computers

  • Jeff Pulera

    September 24, 2012 at 2:06 pm in reply to: Premiere Pro and MB Denoiser 2

    Hi Nick,

    I found myself in a similar situation a while back – I had completely edited and color corrected a two-camera wedding ceremony shot in HDV, and due to dim lighting in the church, I found the noisy video quality unacceptable.

    I downloaded the DeNoiser trial and loved the results, so I purchased it (have since gotten the free DeNoiser II update). To fix the wedding that was already edited, I applied DeNoiser to the original clips in After Effects, exporting the results to new clips. The length/timing of new clips was identical to originals, nothing changed except footage was cleaned up.

    In Premiere, I used File > Make Offline to unlink original clips, and then used File > Link Media to substitute the new, clean clips. Voila! Entire edited ceremony was suddenly clean!!

    Hope you find this helpful. If you only need to fix a few segments, then maybe this is not the workflow for you, as it does require many hours of rendering for even a 30 minute clip.

    Thanks

    Jeff Pulera
    Safe Harbor Computers

  • Jeff Pulera

    September 19, 2012 at 6:42 pm in reply to: External Monitor with CS6

    Hi Simon,

    Did you install the Black Magic device drivers? Premiere will not “see” the card otherwise.

    https://blackmagicdesign.com/support/

    Thanks

    Jeff

Page 161 of 255

We use anonymous cookies to give you the best experience we can.
Our Privacy policy | GDPR Policy