Creative Commons Cinema Europa Lisboa Portugal Biblioteca de arte Funadao Calouste Gulbenkian

The International Cinematographers Guild Announces the 24th Annual Emerging Cinematographer Awards Honorees

The International Cinematographers Guild (ICG, IATSE Local 600) has
named 10 honorees for their Annual Emerging Cinematographer Awards (ECA), spotlighting promising cinematographers and providing crucial exposure needed to succeed in the film and television industry. Due to the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic, the honorees chosen in 2020 will be honored at this year’s ECA event, which will be held virtually in the fall of 2021.

The honorees, who were selected from over 100 submissions, are:

Austin Scott Ahlborg, LOTUS

Andrew Aiello, Green Cobra

Jason Chau, Sting

Jac Cheairs, KENOBI: A Star Wars Fan Film

Morgan Gardiner, Molly Robber

Eric E. Hurt, Singularity

Allie Schultz, Your Monster

Gregor Tavenner, Pleasant Canyon

Michael Tedford, The Elder Scrolls: Legends – E3 Trailer 2019

Leonard P. Walsh ll, KINGSNAKE

Steven Poster, ASC, former National President of the ICG and Co-Chair of the ECA committee, said, “In this most unusual time, we made the difficult decision to postpone the Emerging Cinematographer Awards for one year. We felt that the honorees would not get the recognition they deserved during the pandemic. We are taking this opportunity, however, to announce the honorees and their short films because these talented cinematographers and directors deserve to be celebrated for the exceptional work they have created.”

Jimmy Matlosz, Co-Chair of the Guild’s ECA committee added, “Being that 2020 was a year of challenges for many families, groups and individuals, we are proud to keep the ECAs and our dedication to the art and craft of cinematography burning brightly. We look forward to honoring these talented cinematographers this year.”

ICG’s Emerging Cinematographer Awards give Local 600 members an opportunity to present themselves as directors of photography by submitting a short film with a running time of 30 minutes or less for consideration. The awards are open to any member of the Guild who is not already classified as a director of photography. The films are selected by a panel of ICG members from across the country and can be also be seen by a wider audience at selected film festivals throughout the year.

For more information about the ECAs go to or contact MaryAnne MacDougall at [email protected]


We use anonymous cookies to give you the best experience we can.
Our Privacy policy | GDPR Policy