Forum Replies Created

Page 503 of 605
  • Todd Kopriva

    January 15, 2010 at 4:51 pm in reply to: AE CS4 – OSX Snow Leopard and render times…

    Also, you must update to After Effects CS4 (9.0.2) if you’re using Snow Leopard.

    ———————————————————————————————————
    Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
    putting the ‘T’ back in ‘RTFM’ : After Effects Help on the Web
    ———————————————————————————————————
    If a page of After Effects Help answers your question, please consider rating it. If you have a tip, technique, or link to share—or if there is something that you’d like to see added or improved—please leave a comment.

  • Todd Kopriva

    January 15, 2010 at 4:22 pm in reply to: Wiggle (or another solution)

    There are examples on this page for starting and stopping a wiggle at specific times.

    ———————————————————————————————————
    Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
    putting the ‘T’ back in ‘RTFM’ : After Effects Help on the Web
    ———————————————————————————————————
    If a page of After Effects Help answers your question, please consider rating it. If you have a tip, technique, or link to share—or if there is something that you’d like to see added or improved—please leave a comment.

  • Todd Kopriva

    January 15, 2010 at 4:13 pm in reply to: New Machine

    64-bit operating system, lots of RAM, multiple fast hard drives.

    ———————————————————————————————————
    Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
    putting the ‘T’ back in ‘RTFM’ : After Effects Help on the Web
    ———————————————————————————————————
    If a page of After Effects Help answers your question, please consider rating it. If you have a tip, technique, or link to share—or if there is something that you’d like to see added or improved—please leave a comment.

  • > I have also tried importing the Premiere project into After Effects, but then I lose all of the color correcting I did in Premiere. Is there any explanation for that, too?

    Not all features of a Premiere Pro project come across when you import it into After Effects. The features that are converted are described here.

    You might have better luck using Dynamic Link. See this page for a summary of ways to exchange data between Premiere Pro and After Effects.

    ———————————————————————————————————
    Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
    putting the ‘T’ back in ‘RTFM’ : After Effects Help on the Web
    ———————————————————————————————————
    If a page of After Effects Help answers your question, please consider rating it. If you have a tip, technique, or link to share—or if there is something that you’d like to see added or improved—please leave a comment.

  • Todd Kopriva

    January 14, 2010 at 6:40 pm in reply to: No preview in Bridge for text effects presets

    Responding quite a bit later, now that I found a solution to this. Hopefully, this will help others who search and find this thread. See “Previews won’t play in Bridge? Turn on software rendering”.

    ———————————————————————————————————
    Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
    putting the ‘T’ back in ‘RTFM’ : After Effects Help on the Web
    ———————————————————————————————————
    If a page of After Effects Help answers your question, please consider rating it. If you have a tip, technique, or link to share—or if there is something that you’d like to see added or improved—please leave a comment.

  • Is there a difference in the number of pixels (height or width) in the clips that are interpreted as 1.00, compared with the ones that are interpreted as 0.91?

    After Effects uses the frame dimensions to make a guess about what pixel aspect ratio to use when interpreting the footage. If it guessed wrong, you can correct it in the Interpret Footage dialog box.

    See “Interpret footage” and “Pixel aspect ratios”.

    ———————————————————————————————————
    Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
    putting the ‘T’ back in ‘RTFM’ : After Effects Help on the Web
    ———————————————————————————————————
    If a page of After Effects Help answers your question, please consider rating it. If you have a tip, technique, or link to share—or if there is something that you’d like to see added or improved—please leave a comment.

  • Todd Kopriva

    January 14, 2010 at 3:39 am in reply to: Apply texture to text layer without changing color

    Blend the layers together with a blending mode. You can cycle through the blending modes to see which one gives you the look that you like. To cycle forward and back through blending modes, press – and = on the main keyboard.

    See “Work with blending modes”.

    ———————————————————————————————————
    Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
    putting the ‘T’ back in ‘RTFM’ : After Effects Help on the Web
    ———————————————————————————————————
    If a page of After Effects Help answers your question, please consider rating it. If you have a tip, technique, or link to share—or if there is something that you’d like to see added or improved—please leave a comment.

  • Todd Kopriva

    January 13, 2010 at 2:02 am in reply to: CS4 and MXF files

    MXF is a somewhat generic container format. From the rest of your question, it seems that you’re interested in P2 media in MXF files. After Effects CS3 (8.0.2) and later can import and use P2 media in MXF files.

    See these pages:

    “Supported import formats”

    “Import assets in Panasonic P2 format”

    ———————————————————————————————————
    Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
    putting the ‘T’ back in ‘RTFM’ : After Effects Help on the Web
    ———————————————————————————————————
    If a page of After Effects Help answers your question, please consider rating it. If you have a tip, technique, or link to share—or if there is something that you’d like to see added or improved—please leave a comment.

  • Todd Kopriva

    January 12, 2010 at 9:46 pm in reply to: Rendering to DV Stream (.dv)

    This is one of the few cases in which using the File > Export menu command is not a bad idea.

    from “Rendering and exporting overview”:

    “You can also use commands in the File > Export menu to encode movies into some formats (such as raw DV streams) using QuickTime components.”

    If you want to wrap the DV data in a QuickTime (MOV) container, then you can go through the render queue; you just choose the corresponding DV type from the Format menu after clicking Format Options in the Output Module Settings dialof box.

    ———————————————————————————————————
    Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
    putting the ‘T’ back in ‘RTFM’ : After Effects Help on the Web
    ———————————————————————————————————
    If a page of After Effects Help answers your question, please consider rating it. If you have a tip, technique, or link to share—or if there is something that you’d like to see added or improved—please leave a comment.

  • Todd Kopriva

    January 12, 2010 at 6:14 pm in reply to: AE Plug Ins

    I don’t think that the right question to start with is “What plug-ins should I buy?”

    Rather, I think that you should learn the basics of After Effects and find out what you can do with what you get in the box. There are hundreds of effects (plug-ins) that ship with After Effects, so it’s not a given that you need to buy some more expensive stuff just to get started.

    The video that you linked to wouldn’t require anything that doesn’t come with After Effects.

    Only after you’ve determined that something specific that you’re trying to do requires additional software should you start buying new things.

    Just my opinion, of course.

    You can get started learning After Effects by going through the materials linked to under the “Getting started” heading on this page.

    ———————————————————————————————————
    Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
    putting the ‘T’ back in ‘RTFM’ : After Effects Help on the Web
    ———————————————————————————————————
    If a page of After Effects Help answers your question, please consider rating it. If you have a tip, technique, or link to share—or if there is something that you’d like to see added or improved—please leave a comment.

Page 503 of 605

We use anonymous cookies to give you the best experience we can.
Our Privacy policy | GDPR Policy