I’m saying drop zones act differently then photos and clips. The name will stay Drop Zone. If it’s just a photo or a clip and you drag the “photo” from your File Browser to a different photo on the timeline the arrow will turn into a hook shaped arrow. When you let go of the mouse the name of the original photo will change to the new one in the timeline. It sounds like that’s what you’re doing so I’m not sure why it’s treating it differently. Apple has a article on deleting user preferences, do you want it?
Stephen Smith
Lone Peak Producitons
Check out my DVD Money Making Graphics & Effects for Final Cut Studio 2