James Ewart
Forum Replies Created
-
So when you consolidate a project it’s only going to take the clips that are in the project…or just the bits of the clips you have used?
The more I look the bigger this update seems to be.
-
Hello Helge,
That looks like a useful tool.
It is a little surprising to me that FCPX dos not have such functionality built in.
But…hang on a minute. Isn’t that what “consolidate project files does anyway”?
Not sure I quite understand the difference. Could you shed some light for me please.
Regards
James
-
“File > Copy Project to Library > New Library
and save a new Library.
If your media is external then choose:
File > Copy Project to Library > New Library
Name and save the Library to a unique location (like a new folder).
You will get the pop up that asks if you want to include optimized and proxies.
This will create a new Library with a new Event with externally linked clips (if your clips were linked).
You then choose the Project in the new Library and choose:
File > Consolidate Project Files.
You can then choose to consolidate them in to the Library or to the same unique location.
Basically, you can Consolidate Project files without having to Consolidate all the clips in the Library. The same goes for Events.”So in this new library you will only end up with clips that have been used in that particular Event or projects within it? Plus clips used in any projects that are (or were) in other Events (which is what Consolidate does?).”
Here we seem to be getting to the crux of the difference between Events and Bins.
But I wonder whether it would make more sense to consolidate before copying to a new library/
It is a little confusing (to me a least)
-
Having finished my tidy up when I look inside package contents of the Library which contained the Events I have now given their own Libraries to, I have found a large trash folder. Do you think I should empty it?
I used the “move” tool as opposed to “copy” which suggests to me that “move” copies and then deletes as opposed to actually copying.
-
Why not “move” instead of “copy” I wonder?
-
Hi John,
I’m intrigued to know when you and the Ripple people first got a look at the 10.1 update?
And none of you breathed a word!
I sincerely hope some major facilities houses in the UK start to take it seriously now.
Why are we Brits so resistant to change?
-
It’s all better when you get down to the ‘meat and potatoes’ than 10.9.
… just getting my head round it.
The more I get into it the more I feel we are much closer to traditional workflows than anyone in Cupertino might care to admit.
Anyway God bless ’em all for listening.
And if anybody from there is watching I would’t be here if I didn’t like it, so Happy New Year one and all.
-
Perhaps you are right
I am referring to this window which I was used to seeing.
Upon relaunch all that happened was it opened a new Library on the internal drive. Maybe this is normal after trashing prefs but it did not behave this way when I first installed and launched it
The main point is that for me the software became unusable after this somewhat unusual behaviour none of which occurred prior to trashing prefs. Effectively frozen.
Deleted FCPX. Reinstalled and all is well.
Now I’m no rocket scientist but…
-
“Either way great support for this free piece of software from Jon Chappell. I couldn’t count how many times I’ve used it over the last 2 years.”
Absolutely agree…great product…made life so much easier.
Of course I cannot say with absolute certainty that it was not something stupid I did.
Sounds like FCPX does not like having it’s preferences trashed with the app or on the finder.

