Consolidate the clips.
Open up your “File Footage Project”, select a clip, click consolidate.
You have the choice of creating a totally new file, with new media, or linking the new
master clip to the original media. Safest to create a totally new file, and to uncheck “delete original media”, which will leave your original files completely alone – probably best until you get the hang of it.
At any rate, the new clips will be associated with your File project. Once you’ve verified this, you can delete your old files. ( Remember, if you go with option 2, and you’ve linked the new master clip to the original media, to only delete the master clip – not the media files!)
Try a few tests before you do it for real.
Cheers,
Bob