Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

Activity Forums Square Box CatDV User able to delete media file?

  • User able to delete media file?

    Posted by Deleted User on June 10, 2013 at 10:08 pm

    I am administering a growing CatDV Pro database enterpise edition with a worker. The regular user logon has permissions set so they can’t do too much damage, but I was surprised to find out they were able to delete the media files. Where can I set this permission so that only the admin can delete media files?

    Lee

    SAMDOG Digital Post
    Calgary, Alberta
    Mac Pro 2.66 12-core 16gb ram • FSI LM1760W Monitor • Matrox MX02 or BM Decklink • Caldigit HDPro2 8tb Raid • Avid Artist Transport • MC6, FCP7, PremierePro, Resolve.

    • Living my life one frame at a time •

    Bryson Jones replied 10 years, 8 months ago 4 Members · 8 Replies
  • 8 Replies
  • Scott Goddard

    June 11, 2013 at 6:47 am

    Can the user publish the changed (cmd S) after deleting the files?

    Scott Goddard

    Neo Verite Limited
    http://www.neoverite.com

  • Deleted User

    June 11, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    Scott,

    The user can publish the changes and the media file is definitely deleted. Although the user can’t delete the actual catalog entry. Somewhere there has to be the ability to lock down the ability to delete the original files. Below is the Groups and Roles Pref Window as currently set up for the user.

  • Bryson Jones

    June 11, 2013 at 4:26 pm

    CatDV does not manage storage.

    This is good, since it means that it’s simpler and doesn’t work with only a few “brands” of storage but it also means that you must manage storage permissions via the storage system.

    This means that on a SAN, you use the SAN’s permissions structure. On a NAS or server you use that. On a local hard drive… you make a copy. 😉

    If CatDV were to “protect” the storage, it would have to communicate with the filesystem and that brings a level of complexity that costs a lot, is hard to code to and generally means that you’d be buying “Squarebox” branded storage for $$$$$.

    bryson

    bryson “at” northshoreautomation.com

    northshoreautomation.com

  • Deleted User

    June 11, 2013 at 8:28 pm

    Bryson,

    The deletion was done not at the O/S level but in CatDV using the right-click menu option to “Delete Media Files”.

  • Scott Goddard

    June 11, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    Ok, I know you probably have but just recheck that the role is not part of the system group. I did an ‘audit’ of the permission settings before I set a system live and only found one bug with event markers being locked and still being editable (which will be fixed in 10.0.3. according to Rolf). I did not find an issue with clip deletion at the catDv level.

    Can you post the user permissions screen shot?

    Scott Goddard

    Neo Verite Limited
    http://www.neoverite.com

  • Bryson Jones

    June 12, 2013 at 5:20 am

    Yes, CatDV does not prevent a user from manipulating media in the app, only clips and metadata. (Actually if you save a catalog locally you can also manipulate the clips and metadata, you just cannot save it to the server.) The Server only protects the data in the database.

    Some may see this as a bug, but I’m not sure how you’d block it owing to how CatDV is constructed.

    I just copied a file using a read only user to confirm. This is a media management application and so it has access to the file system.

    If you want to protect media, you have to protect it at the filesystem level or use a web client. This is a side effect of CatDV’s client/server nature.

    If you need to control/protect the filesystem this has to be done by designing your storage and workflow to work together. In systems where users have restricted access to the files, you use the Worker Node to move files and limit users to read only or proxy only access. (This is similar to how other MAM systems do this. They share proxy and only the “server” can manipulate the files. (Note, some users hate this about those systems. See Final Cut Server, for an example.) We commonly set up systems this way as it guarantees security and control of data but it requires far more programming and less manual operation of the CatDV Client App.

    With planning and good design, you can protect your media and still avail yourself of the ease of use/deployment of CatDV but these are the reasons that JB&A and Squarebox so strongly recommend you work with a solid dealer/integrator/trainer to plan your system. As incorrect configuration and lack of training can have disastrous results.

    CatDV’s a great system that you can use to get something running quickly, or build a really amazing deep workflow. But those two situations are usually mutually exclusive. If you can accept the former, do what you like. If you want the latter, it will likely not happen straight out of the box laid over your existing workflow and storage schema.

    bryson

    bryson “at” northshoreautomation.com

    northshoreautomation.com

  • Toni Popovic

    June 12, 2013 at 10:45 am

    Why don’t you just disable delete and move altogether from preferences->file system menu? Did I miss something? Granted this does not allow to enable and disable it for different users but it might help. You could also place different users in different product groups so you can have different preferences (with move+delete enabled/disabled).

  • Bryson Jones

    June 12, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    And Toni comes through with the reason I shouldn’t reply to threads late at night.

    God Bless the internet for the catch. I totally forgot that setting.

    But always remember that users can still go to the actual storage and delete or move files unless you lock it down so take all aspects into account when designing your system.

    bryson

    bryson “at” northshoreautomation.com

    northshoreautomation.com

We use anonymous cookies to give you the best experience we can.
Our Privacy policy | GDPR Policy