Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

Forums Storage & Archiving Setting up a qnap TVS-H1688x for video editing in high resolution

• Setting up a qnap TVS-H1688x for video editing in high resolution

Bob Zelin updated 6 days, 4 hours ago 2 Members · 4 Posts
  • Pedro Luz

February 17, 2021 at 8:15 am

Hi,

I bought a TVS-H1688x and ten HDD 16TB Seagate ironwolf pro and a m2 4tb sdd for cache

https://www.qnap.com/en/product/tvs-h1688x

I’m a creative professional creating and editing high resolution video sequences (up to 24k) from jpg or tiff 16 bits, that goes from 40MB up to 900 MB in size for each frame of video.

I’m not looking for anything real-time at these high resolutions, I just want a fast read/write with some degree of security built-in.

I’m using three workstations that will read/write to the nas during render times, or are doing different parts in the project in each workstation.

Questions:

a) Should I setup the HDD as a disk array 6 or a disk array 50 using the new quts hero zfs configuration?

I now that I lose two disks in either configuration, I really can’t find any final answer regarding read/write of really big files.

b) Should I use the tick or thin volume?

I just want to have a vast pool of space where I’m able to read/write as fast as the dual 10gbe connection from the NAS allows me.

Any feedback would be welcome

Thanks

Pedro luz

• Bob Zelin

February 17, 2021 at 7:28 pm

2 SSD’s for your RAID 1 operating system – Storage Pool 1 with 2 of the SSD’s.

forget the Caching

all 12 drives (yes – ALL 12 DRIVES) in a single raid group – RAID 6 thin provisioning as storage Pool 1 (max size).

Your 10G port goes to a 10G switch. You plug your 3 computers into that 10G switch with 10G adapters. All static IP addresses –

for example

QNAP 10G port – 192.168.2.3 255.255.255.0

10G switch – 192.168.2.10

Computer 1 – 192.168.2.11

computer 2 – 192.168.2.12