Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

Activity Forums Adobe After Effects Remove & reinstall EVERY Adobe product from Windows without losing plugins etc.

  • Remove & reinstall EVERY Adobe product from Windows without losing plugins etc.

    Posted by Sami Bayley on February 11, 2022 at 8:57 pm

    TL;DR: Best way to wipe everything related to adobe off my machine, and do a fresh install of everything, but exactly the way it was, keeping all settings, plugins, scripts, scriptUI panels, User Presets, extentions etc.

    I’ve been having so many issues with after effects lately. Every time I close the program, I get a crash report, every time I export to media encoder, no crash, but I get a crash report.
    Random slow previews. Random black screens. Weird errors popping up when closing, opening, rendering, previewing.

    I feel like a fresh install of everything will be the best potential solution, I’ve been putting it off for weeks, I’ve just bought a 3080, so a new GPU, and fresh install of Adobe Suite sounds great. Thing is, I’ve spent the last 10 or so years compiling animation presets, Scripts, ScriptUI Panels, Extensions, building my KBAR, writing scripts, optimal settings. I know I can probably just copy those folders elsewhere, reinstall then replace. But I’m petrified of loosing anything. What’s the best way of ensuring I keep EVERYTHING?

    Graham Quince replied 4 years, 6 months ago 2 Members · 1 Reply
  • 1 Reply
  • Graham Quince

    February 12, 2022 at 12:17 pm

    If you find a way, let me know. I’ve resorted to keeping a folder of all my plugins, their install instructions and all my presets in a folder. When the next full upgrade happens, I just work through the folder from the top down.

    Before doing this, it used to take me several hours, but I’ve just got a new PC and it took less than 45 minutes to get everything back in place. The only trouble with this method is that I forgot to update my effects and presets and I’d tweaked a couple recently. But I was able to open a recent project and overwrite them them there.

We use anonymous cookies to give you the best experience we can.
Our Privacy policy | GDPR Policy