Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

Forums VEGAS Pro Is VEGAS 19 more stable than VEGAS 18?

• Is VEGAS 19 more stable than VEGAS 18?

Sean Michael updated 2 hours, 38 minutes ago 4 Members · 6 Posts
  • Sean Michael

November 4, 2021 at 9:02 pm

I have been editing with VEGAS for more than 15 years. Unfortunately I’ve found VEGAS 18 to be the most problematic version I’ve ever used. A typical editing session involves full crashes/freezes every 15 minutes or so, of the kind that require a complete reboot. Even with autosave backing up the file every 1 minute, this ongoing disruption is costing me a lot of time & money with every project. The problem is not my hardware — I am using very powerful hardware (CPU/GPU, plenty of RAM, SSD drives, etc.). I have made every effort to properly configure VEGAS 18 to minimize crashing (adjusting available RAM, updating drivers, etc.) — my efforts have not been successful. I am at my wit’s end with this software, to the point I’m ready to go out and spend $4500 switching to Apple / Mac specifically for a stable editing experience. Hence the topic of my post — is VEGAS 19 more stable than VEGAS 18? Or would I be better off cutting my losses and starting with something new?

• Red-Rob Rothkopf

November 4, 2021 at 9:25 pm

Hey Sean.

I can’t comment on 19, but have been editing on Vegas the same length as you. Although I’ve had an occasional crash with 18 it sounds like my experience isn’t quite as bad as yours, and mine depends on the project, plug-ins, what my source file formats are and if I’ve built proxies, and whether I have GPU turned on or off inside of Vegas (off is almost always more stable, albeit lower performance in some areas).

More usual than not it’s pretty darned solid for me.