Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

Activity Forums Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy Can I replace the original file with the FCP export?

  • Can I replace the original file with the FCP export?

    Posted by Joseph Wilkins on March 31, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    So I have my captured clips in my capture folder.

    I bring them into FCP and make my edit…

    Is there a way to save the file to the original capture file? Thus avoiding making 2 copies of the file and saving disk space?

    I know this is not advised as it is deleting the original… just wondered if it is possible for projects where you know you’ll just be deleting the original anyway?

    Adam Smith replied 18 years, 5 months ago 5 Members · 7 Replies
  • 7 Replies
  • Joseph Wilkins

    March 31, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    no.. not when you USE the file… I am talking about when you EXPORT the file.

    The difference between save and save as in photoshop when you save over the original.

    Make sense?

  • Jeremy Garchow

    March 31, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    [joseph Wilkins] “Make sense? “

    No. Why would you want to do this?

  • Shane Ross

    March 31, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    I am just really confused about what you are even talking about. Been trying to figure it out, but I don’t get what you are talking about, or what you are trying to do.

    Shane

    GETTING ORGANIZED WITH FINAL CUT PRO DVD now for sale!
    http://www.LFHD.net
    Read my blog!

  • Adam Smith

    April 1, 2008 at 12:57 am

    He wants to capture a clip, do something to it in FCP, then export the clip saving it over the top of the original. And have the clip in the bin reference the new exported clip instead of just complaining that the original clip is gone.

    I would tend to think you can’t just save over the top, since you’d be trying to delete a file that is in use (since it’s the source and likely being referenced to create the new file).


    Video Photographer / Avid Editor / Final Cut Neophyte

  • Jeremy Garchow

    April 1, 2008 at 1:14 am

    [Adam Smith] “I would tend to think you can’t just save over the top, since you’d be trying to delete a file that is in use (since it’s the source and likely being referenced to create the new file). “

    There’s no reason to do this?

  • Jason Porthouse

    April 1, 2008 at 11:17 am

    Joseph,

    If I’m getting you correctly – you want to minimise the media stored on you machine. So for a 10 minute video (cut) where you’ve digitised an hour’s worth of footage, you want to have the project along with 10 minute’s worth of video rather than the hour.

    If I’m correct in my assumption, Media Manager is your friend (and I never thought I’d write that!) as you cen use it to create a new project with only your used media, discarding the unused stuff. You’ll need to RTFM and do a search on the Cow for tutorials and advice on how to best achieve this…

    If I’m not correct then I haven’t a clue what you’re on about!

    HTH

    Jason

    _________________________________

    Before you criticise a man, walk a mile in his shoes.
    Then when you do criticise him, you’ll be a mile away. And have his shoes.

    *the artist formally known as Jaymags*

  • Adam Smith

    April 2, 2008 at 5:20 am

    [Jeremy Garchow] “There’s no reason to do this?”

    Well no, no good reason I can think of… but just cause I try to answer a question doesn’t mean I’d DO it. =P

    – – –
    Video Photographer / Avid & Final Cut Editor

We use anonymous cookies to give you the best experience we can.
Our Privacy policy | GDPR Policy