Activity › Forums › Apple OS X › Annoying Trash alert
-
Annoying Trash alert
Posted by Chris Poisson on February 21, 2007 at 8:14 pmMy G5 did not always do this, every time I click on something to go in the trash, it asks permission to throw it away. I don’t know what setting I changed, but I’ve looked and can’t find it. My other 3 Macs running Tiger don’t do this. Very annoying!
Chris Poisson replied 19 years, 6 months ago 2 Members · 5 Replies -
5 Replies
-
Don Greening
February 22, 2007 at 4:38 amI can’t remember either, but if you want to empty the trash and avoid the warning you can press: ?-Shift-Option-Delete. This shortcut will also work if you’ve got locked files in the trash.
– Don
“Please take a moment to fill out your profile, including your computer system and relevant software. Help us help you.”
-
Don Greening
February 22, 2007 at 4:42 am[Don Greening] “?-Shift-Option-Delete.”
The question mark was supposed to be the Command key. Apparently the Cow doesn’t know what the Apple/Command icon is and substituted a question mark.
– Don
“Please take a moment to fill out your profile, including your computer system and relevant software. Help us help you.”
-
Don Greening
February 22, 2007 at 8:16 amChris, I found it. The path is: Finder Menu>Preferences>Advanced>show warning before emptying the trash.
– Don
“Please take a moment to fill out your profile, including your computer system and relevant software. Help us help you.”
-
Chris Poisson
February 22, 2007 at 1:21 pmDon,
I tried that, even with a restart and permissions repair, it did not work. BTW, the keyboard shortcut to get around it is command/option/delete. That works, so I’ll just make it a habit.
Reply to this Discussion! Login or Sign Up