-
AE saving over other project on NAS
We are using the most current version of After Effects CC. These are Macs connected in a shared storage environment using a QNAP NAS. Typically all of our project files – After Effects, Premiere Pro, Photoshop, etc – are saved to the appropriate job folder on the QNAP volumes.
Ever since the most recent round of updates in both macOS HS and Adobe CC, we are randomly experiencing cases where an active AE project is saving over some other existing project file. These two projects can be inside different job folders from each other and with different names. It does not change the name of the other AE project, but it does change the contents within the project file. So it’s saving over the file, but retaining the original name of the other.
It always seems to happen when two or more artists have AE open at the same time and are actively working. It hasn’t happened when only one operator has AE open. The affected projects seem to be those that started as one project and then variations were created using a “save as” command to create alternates with new names. It’s those additional projects that seem to be the affected ones.
It doesn’t happen with any other apps, like Premiere Pro, for example.
Anyone else seen this? Thoughts?
– Oliver
Oliver Peters – oliverpeters.com