Activity › Forums › Apple Final Cut Pro › Trash
-
Trash
Posted by James Ewart on October 12, 2014 at 4:06 pmWhen FCPX says “move to trash” does it actually move it to a trash can somewhere or delete it forever?
Kind of interesting. FCPX has some kind of cache of used clips in the actual project? Where does it actually store this stuff?
James Ewart replied 11 years, 10 months ago 5 Members · 22 Replies -
22 Replies
-
Robin S. kurz
October 12, 2014 at 4:21 pmIt’s literal. Meaning the FINDER trash.
____________________________________________________
Deutsch? Hier gibt es ein umfassendes FCP X Training für dich! -
Bob Woodhead
October 12, 2014 at 5:18 pmI’ve always wished that NLE devs would use Quantel’s term; “CRF” – Cutting Room Floor. Felt like the hanging bins were just outside the room.
-
Robin S. kurz
October 12, 2014 at 5:38 pm[Bob Woodhead] “I’ve always wished that NLE devs would use Quantel’s term; “CRF” – Cutting Room Floor.”
Only that that would be factually incorrect in context and not the least be useful. I find it far more helpful to point to the fact that, if needed, you still have the option to restore deleted files from said trash, as opposed to some meaningless abbreviation/metaphor.
____________________________________________________
Deutsch? Hier gibt es ein umfassendes FCP X Training für dich! -
James Ewart
October 12, 2014 at 6:23 pmWhen I trash a project it does not go to the Finder trash. Where does it go?
-
Craig Alan
October 12, 2014 at 7:00 pmI just created a new project in a library. I called it test and then moved to trash. I opened the finder’s trash and it was not in there. So where is it?
Mac Pro, macbook pro, Imacs (i7); Canon 5D Mark III/70D, Panasonic AG-HPX170/AG-HPX250P, Canon HV40, Sony Z7U/VX2000/PD170; FCP 6 certified; FCP X write professionally for a variety of media; teach video production in L.A.
-
Charlie Austin
October 13, 2014 at 3:48 am[James Ewart] “When FCPX says “move to trash” does it actually move it to a trash can somewhere or delete it forever?”
Anything “moved to trash” goes into a trash folder in the Library package. It stay there (available if you hit undo) until you close the project. Then the folder, and its content, is deleted.
————————————————————-
~ My FCPX Babbling blog ~
~”It is a poor craftsman who blames his tools.”~
~”The function you just attempted is not yet implemented”~ -
Robin S. kurz
October 13, 2014 at 8:22 am[Charlie Austin] “Anything “moved to trash” goes into a trash folder in the Library package. It stay there (available if you hit undo) until you close the project. “
Though I admit that they clearly have made some big changes to how this works that I hadn’t even noticed yet (hence my above claim which in fact used to be the case), I’m not seeing any such “Trash folder” or any of the other behaviour you describe. In fact after trying this and that I can’t even seem to figure out what it IS in fact doing and when. Nothing I delete is in actually disappearing from within my library. Restart or not. Which doesn’t strike me as the right behaviour in any case. Even deleting the master clip in the event isn’t met with a dialog box, nor is the clip in the project being subsequently deleted either as it used to. Match framing the clip in the project makes the clip reappear in the event and other oddities. Hmmm… I’ll have to investigate… my curiosity is peaked.
____________________________________________________
Deutsch? Hier gibt es ein umfassendes FCP X Training für dich! -
Charlie Austin
October 13, 2014 at 8:45 pm[Robin S. Kurz] “I’m not seeing any such “Trash folder” or any of the other behaviour you describe. In fact after trying this and that I can’t even seem to figure out what it IS in fact doing and when. Nothing I delete is in actually disappearing from within my library.”
It’s in the Library package, not in the app, and works as described.
[Robin S. Kurz] “Even deleting the master clip in the event isn’t met with a dialog box, nor is the clip in the project being subsequently deleted either as it used to. Match framing the clip in the project makes the clip reappear in the event and other oddities.”
That’s the expected behavior, X now works like 7 or Pr in that deleting a master clip in an event does not delete it from projects in which it is used. If you delete a clip from the browser, and then delete it from a project (if it’s the last instance of the clip in the Library) you will get a confirmation dialog.
————————————————————-
~ My FCPX Babbling blog ~
~”It is a poor craftsman who blames his tools.”~
~”The function you just attempted is not yet implemented”~
Reply to this Discussion! Login or Sign Up