Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

  • James Ewart

    October 14, 2014 at 8:50 am

    Does Match Framing/Reveal in Event Browser resurrect the entire clip of just the part of the original clip used in the project?

  • Charlie Austin

    October 14, 2014 at 8:53 am

    [James Ewart] “Does Match Framing/Reveal in Event Browser resurrect the entire clip of just the part of the original clip used in the project?”

    I’m just guessing here, but I’d imagine it’s the whole clip, since X doesn’t do subclips or anything. Try it and see, 🙂

    ————————————————————-

    ~ My FCPX Babbling blog ~
    ~”It is a poor craftsman who blames his tools.”~
    ~”The function you just attempted is not yet implemented”~

  • James Ewart

    October 14, 2014 at 9:01 am

    Thanks I will.

    Wonder where it stores this stuff ? Is there some secret hidden cache of files somewhere?

    Kind of a useful workflow for tidying up and deleting unused media. Just trash all the clips.

  • James Ewart

    October 14, 2014 at 10:32 am

    So yes the whole clip, not just the selection is restored in the browser when you hit Shift F.

    As for the temporary trash file, that only seems to appear when you trash a project but not a clip.

    When you trash a clip I have no idea where it goes. I assume the original media in a managed library goes with it and it just “disappears” altogether when you quit FCPX.

    So it is a mystery where the files that get restored when you hit Shift F are stored.

    Or is it?

  • Robin S. kurz

    October 14, 2014 at 11:03 am

    [Charlie Austin] “It’s in the Library package”

    Like I said: nope.

    [Charlie Austin] “That’s the expected behavior, X now works like 7 or Pr in that deleting a master clip in an event does not delete it from projects in which it is used. If you delete a clip from the browser, and then delete it from a project (if it’s the last instance of the clip in the Library) you will get a confirmation dialog.”

    Exactly. And I was expecting exactly that, only I wasn’t seeing it. Which is why I was confused. BUT… I actually have to redact my last post also, because only now did I realise that I was working with footage that was also in another Event. Which is why it wasn’t in fact trashed as expected. Duh! My bad.

    So, yes, it’s in fact just as I said originally and am now seeing it when working with a completely “autonomous” event. Deleting every instance of a clip from your event(s) AND project(s) will in fact move it to THE FINDER trash. I have yet to see or hear of a library trash when it comes to clips.

    ____________________________________________________
    Deutsch? Hier gibt es ein umfassendes FCP X Training für dich!

  • James Ewart

    October 14, 2014 at 11:18 am

    The trash folder is there when you ‘Show Package Contents’ but only when you delete a project. And only whilst the project is still open. Disappears when you quit or close project.

    Deleted clips do go in the trash … got that now.

    Thanks

  • Robin S. kurz

    October 14, 2014 at 12:51 pm

    [James Ewart] “but only when you delete a project.”

    Yes, like I said, only in the case of projects. Not clips. They go to the Finder trash. I simply assumed we were talking specifically about clips going by your initial question. Oh well… at least it’s all cleared up now.

    ____________________________________________________
    Deutsch? Hier gibt es ein umfassendes FCP X Training für dich!

  • James Ewart

    October 14, 2014 at 3:09 pm

    What still puzzles me is that you can delete the clips and then empty the trash and yet FCPX still has the ability to resurrect those clips used in a project/timeline with Shift F.

    So where are these files stored? Is there a secret cache somewhere?

  • Robin S. kurz

    October 14, 2014 at 3:54 pm

    No, it can’t. Like I said, I was inadvertently doing it with clips that were also being used in another event, which is why they were in fact never actually trashed. Hence my initial confusion. I wasn’t even seeing the dialog box.

    And again, like I said before, once you trash BOTH instances, that is the clip in the event AND the clip in the timeline (or the one in the timeline first, then the one in the event… whichever) with ⌘-DELETE, obviously, then even a match frame won’t bring it back. If you’re able to match frame, then you clearly haven’t deleted it from the timeline.

    ____________________________________________________
    Deutsch? Hier gibt es ein umfassendes FCP X Training für dich!

  • James Ewart

    October 15, 2014 at 7:12 am

    Absolutely right. But when it is deleted from the browser and the trash has been emptied the clip still exists in the timeline, so it hasn’t actually been deleted at all.

    Which leads me to thinking where actually is it?

    And also what a great way of deleting unused media to clear up storage space.

Page 2 of 3

We use anonymous cookies to give you the best experience we can.
Our Privacy policy | GDPR Policy