Like some people said you have to tick the Play audio while scrubbing option under Preferences/Audio/Play audio while scrubbing.
But I found out how it happened completely out of nowhere:
SHIFT + S activates and deactivates it.
Probably happend while mis-clicking while saving.
I know you asked this 6 years ago, but I wanted to share the new information with you ?
And this is literally the only page you find information about this, even 6 years later ?