When avid launches it checks/adjusts/creates a database in any numbered folder within the MXF/”number” structure. The file is called msmMMOB.mdb
Inside Avid, you can either create a new bin called “transcodes” or use the bin that contains all the clips you were already transcoding.
From the finder level or explorer level, manipulate your way to the mxf/2 folder you created described in the above post.
Basically, you have avid running underneath your finder screen, but you can see them both at once.
From the finder/explorer window, drag the msmMMOB.mdb file into the avid bin. Yes…you are dragging from outside an Avid program, into the Avid program.
This will populate the bin with every clip that is in the “2” folder.
You have already ensured that the 2 folder only contains the media that was created and “lost” due to the crash.
You can now identify which clips have been transcoded, and which clips haven’t.
Yes it does work…I do it all the time when crashes occur.
At the end of the process, you can feel free to drag those files back to the 1 folder, to keep your entire project together. Avid will simply rebuild the database in the 1 folder, and the clips that were created above will stay online, invisible to anyone that they have in fact changed from the 2 to the 1 folder.
Take it a step further, once you have all your media in place, and rename your 1 folder to “project X Media” Avid will continue to read the database inside that folder, and access the media. You will however not be able to create or move any new mediafiles into that folder. (Letters in the folder name make it read only by Avid Standards) If you want to refresh the database in that folder, because you have added more files to it, you have to briefly rename it to 2, or 3 or 666 or 123456…anything with numbers only. Avid will scan it and refresh the database. Once done you can then safely rename it back to “project x Media”
I use this method to keep all my projects separate and organized for backups.
At the end of a session I typically rename my 1 folder to “project X working files” When I jump to that project again, I rename which ever project I’m on to “1”. This becomes where all the renders and incidental file creation for a particular project goes.
When I go to archive, I have a folder called “Project X Media” and “Project X working files” They get archived with the project and taken off the box.
I would ofcourse always have the option of combining those two folders together, changing them to a number allowing Avid to refresh the database, and then renaming that folder to “Project X Media” and archiving it all as one folder.
Glenn