[Bret Williams] “I didn’t care much about trimming and handles. But I wanted to lose the clips that weren’t used, but retain their logging data.”
Here is how you can do it (before 10.1):
1) Duplicate Project for safety and close FCP
2) Hide original project and event
4) Copy original CurrentVersion.fcpevent file, paste into new folder in “Final Cut Events” and launch FCP
5) Make sure project is associated with that new offline event and do Relink Project files
That’s it. You now have only used media in “Original Media” folder, but event contains all the info you had logged.
Hope that helps.