How do you turn off archiving? I don’t see an option, nor do I understand that “feature”. I’m using CCC to (once a day) copy all the new and changed files from one HD to another. That’s it–it’s a simple need. I don’t need any bells and whistles and there’s this “_CCC Archives” folder on the backup drive that is not needed.
In this case, it MOVED my VoiceOver*.aif files from my active FCPX folder to the “_CCC Archives” folder on my backup drive. The files, therefore, did not exist where they should have been in either place. For backup software to be moving files off my primary work HD (source of the files, not the backup) should absolutely never happen.
I did upgrade to a newer version of CCC yesterday and last night’s backup didn’t repeat the behavior. If this happens again, I’m finding other software to use. I’m just glad it wasn’t FCPX 🙂