Hello David,
The “Save Now” button is designed to allow you to Save your posts in case you are writing a detailed post and you want to do something else before you finish the post. If the browser window closed or you navigate away from the page, when you come back to the page your post will be there as it was last saved. The post will be saved until you hit the Post Direct button. The button is available for replies and new posts.
Abraham