-
Using Media Manager to delete unused media
Ok- I don’t want to batch capture or capture one clip at a time anymore (no deck)- so I’m trying to learn about the 3rd strategy (p.208 of the FCP4 manual) which says “capture the entire contents of a DV format source tape, then use the DV start/stop detection command to break it into individual clips automatically.” I did that and then made those individul clips into subclips. now I want to use media manager to delete the subclips I know I’ll never use. The instructions on how to remove unused footage but leave subclips on p.292-293 are very unclear. first it says to delete the master clip from the browser and SELECT all the subclips I want to KEEP. then on p.293 it says to check the “delete unused media from selected ITEM” checkbox. That implies that I will delete the selected items. even worse the picture on p293 of the media manager window has an entirely different box checked – the checkbox in the picture says “delete unused media from the DUPLICATED SEQUENCE.” when I open MY media manager the option reads “delete unused media from selected CLIP” (the sentence does not include the words ” item” or “duplicated sequence”.) Does anyone know what’s going on here? I imagine someone has a clear step by step guide as to how to use the media manager after using the stop/start detection command and creating subclips from those markers.?
your expertise will be greatly appreciated.