Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

Activity Forums VEGAS Pro Upgrade question Vegas 10 to Vegas 11

  • Upgrade question Vegas 10 to Vegas 11

    Posted by Daniel Jircik on November 26, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    Can I open a sony vegas 10 3D project after I upgrade to 11 ? I don’t want to break anything on a large project I’m working on, but I really want to upgrade now. I’m quite anxious to know if anyone has done this. Thanks in advance.
    Daniel

    John Rofrano replied 14 years, 9 months ago 4 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • Stephen Crye

    November 27, 2011 at 5:05 am

    Hi;

    If SVP 11 is like SVP 10, once a project is saved in 11 you will NOT be able to open it in 10! ( I have 11 but have not installed it yet.)

    When I transitioned from 9 to 10, I was veeerrrry careful to rename the projects BEFORE I opened them in 10. I even created separate top-level project folders to make sure and to keep them separate.

    Go slow, test!

    Steve

    Win7 Pro X64 on Dell T3400, MultiTB SATA, 8GB RAM Vegas 10e x64 DVDA 5.2(build 133) Sony HDR-CX550V

  • Daniel Jircik

    November 27, 2011 at 5:42 am

    That was my plan actually to rename everything in another directory so as to keep them separate. So I’m assuming you can open a vegas 10 project in 11 just not the other way around.

    Another question, after you upgrade is 10 still on the machine or is the whole program re installed as 11. I’ve read a few threads saying 11 was a little buggy. Should I wait?

    Thanks

  • Don Cobble

    November 27, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    I would recommend saving your current V10 project under a second name, then open that one in V11 and save it as an V11 and see if all is well, there are still plenty of glitches in V11, you WILL be glad you can go back to V10 until they get V11 ironed out.

    PC
    I7 2.8 Ghz 8GB Ram
    Win 7 Pro 64bit OS
    PNY Quadro 4000

    3-4 TB HD
    Vegas 10 64bit & Vegas 11 64Bit & Adobe Production Premium CS5.5

    Camera
    Sony EX1 shoot in 1920×1080 30P

  • John Rofrano

    November 27, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    [Daniel Jircik] “Another question, after you upgrade is 10 still on the machine or is the whole program re installed as 11.”

    Vegas Pro 10.0 will still be on the machine. The “upgrade” is just a pricing policy. The actual program is always a new full install if you purchase directly from Sony.

    ~jr

    http://www.johnrofrano.com
    http://www.vasst.com

We use anonymous cookies to give you the best experience we can.
Our Privacy policy | GDPR Policy