Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

Forums Storage & Archiving QNAP TVS-871T Permissions and Disconnect Issues

• QNAP TVS-871T Permissions and Disconnect Issues

Marco Feil updated 1 month ago 3 Members · 7 Posts
  • Nate Haustein

June 11, 2020 at 10:11 pm

My small team and I have been editing in FCPX from a QNAP TVS-871T for about 4 years now. It’s been a great asset, but in the last 6-12 months I’ve been having more and more issues with odd Final Cut library behaviors, including force closes, and random disconnects. I’ve contacted QNAP support but they’ve ghosted me three times now when trying to remote in. I need help. And over the years, this forum has consistently been my #1 form of info on my QNAP system. Here goes…

Some background.

• TVS-871T has 8x 6TB drives in RAID6. There is also a TX-800P expansion with 8x 6TB drives in RAID6. Each enclosure hosts a single big share folder.
  • 2 Editors on Catalina Macs (OS X 10.15.5), connected directly to the 2x 10GBe ports on the TVS-871T via QNA-T310G1T Thunderbolt 3 to 10GbE Adaptors.
  • Connecting to QNAP via NFS. Each editor has their own account and is also in the administrator group.
  • Regularly update firmware on QNAP. Problem has persisted for a number of updates now.
  • FCPX on latest version 10.4.8 and storing media inside the library.
  • – – –

Not really having issues with initially connecting, but more so randomly disconnecting, or having FCPX give an error saying that it can no longer write to the library. This typically happens when creating a new event or project in the library. I’m trying my best to learn permissions but I’m pretty confused about how to go about setting and maintaining proper permissions.