Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

  • Posted by Margus Voll on September 14, 2007 at 6:32 am

    Hi.

    I’m going to get new suit with SD HD and 2K editing options.
    What i wonder should i charge more for 2K and uncomp. HD as they
    generate more “media”. My bigest cost would be with 2K arrays as always but it seems to me that this is a bit too expencive for me for the standard price.

    How it sounds ?

    Margus

    https://iconstudios.eu

    Margus Voll replied 18 years, 8 months ago 3 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • Walter Biscardi

    September 14, 2007 at 10:32 am

    The same array will handle 2k and Uncompressed HD. The prices are dropping quite a bit. Can’t necessarily charge more for uncompressed HD because those array prices have dropped a lot.

    Your call on 2K since those will be huge file sizes. We have a modest rate change between SD and HD but not all that much.

    Walter Biscardi, Jr.
    https://www.biscardicreative.com
    HD Editorial & Animation for Broadcast and independent productions.

    All Things Apple Podcast! https://cowcast.creativecow.net/all_things_apple/index.html

    Read my blog! https://blogs.creativecow.net/WalterBiscardi

  • Margus Voll

    September 15, 2007 at 5:47 am

    Thanks Walter

    Margus

    https://iconstudios.eu

  • Brendan Coots

    September 16, 2007 at 6:26 pm

    Generally speaking, a lot of studio managers I know figure rates using simple formulas as a starting point. This starts by figuring:

    1. the gear’s useful life in hours
    2. the cost of the gear
    3. desired profit margin

    Then they do the math (numbers below are samples):

    $5,000 gear price
    $2,500 50% profit
    ——————
    $7,500 total

    2 years useful life – I usually use 1,700 hrs/yr as a rough guide for “actual” working time (6.5 hours per day, 5 days a week, 52 weeks per year). For 2 years this equals 3,400 hours.

    $7,500 divided by 3,400 = $2.20/hr. This is what you will need to charge per hour to safely recoup costs and a modest profit on this gear.

  • Margus Voll

    September 18, 2007 at 5:46 am

    Hi.

    Is there eny way to incorporate running costs to this
    formula?

    Margus

    https://iconstudios.eu

We use anonymous cookies to give you the best experience we can.
Our Privacy policy | GDPR Policy