-
online/offline workflow
Okay…I first transcoded my clips to a high bitrate, and now I want to create a lower-res, offline copy.
So I simply re-transcoded all those same clips at 14:1 and got new files (with the .new at the end of the name).
What do I need to do at this point? I’ve already started doing a little editing with the full-res clips, and I want to switch over to the 14:1 clips.
• Do I need to switch over to the .new clips, or is there some way I can have the bins and timeline re-link to the lower resolution clips? I tried quitting AVID, then unplugging the drive with the full resolution clips, and plugging in the drive with the lower res clips, and I get the “MEDIA OFFLINE” message. How do I re-link to the lower res media without switching to using the .new clips? And then, how do I switch back to the online-hires clips when I’m done editing and ready to output?
Thanks very much,
Dan S.