Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

Activity Forums Panasonic Cameras Mac users: Stop Deleting “The Contents” Directory

  • Mac users: Stop Deleting “The Contents” Directory

    Posted by Barry Green on September 1, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    Hey, here’s a red alert for Mac users: the firmware has changed in the cameras, and that means that you might have to adopt a slightly different workflow!

    Mac computers don’t allow formatting the P2 cards, so Mac users have frequently been just deleting the CONTENTS directory (and executing a force-delete). THAT WON’T WORK ANYMORE.

    The new firmware won’t recognize a P2 card unless it has that directory structure. If you delete the directory structure, the camera won’t recognize the card, and will instead display a message like “FORMAT ERR” or “DIRECTORY NG”. This is, IINM, why the current version of P2 Genie’s erasing of cards can’t be used anymore either.

    Formatting the cards in-camera, or in the P2 Store or P2 Gear, will work properly. The question becomes one of formatting/erasing on the computer, for continuous hot-swap recording.

    For Windows users, just use the “format” option; it’ll do what you need.

    For Mac users, you cannot just delete all the directories anymore. What you need to do is use P2CMS, select all the clips and then delete them. That’ll erase all the files while preserving the directory structure.

    —————–
    Get the most from your DVX camera. The DVX Book and DVX DVD are now available on ebay and at Amazon (https://www.fiftv.com/db)

    Barry Green replied 18 years, 11 months ago 1 Member · 0 Replies
  • 0 Replies

Sorry, there were no replies found.

We use anonymous cookies to give you the best experience we can.
Our Privacy policy | GDPR Policy