Activity › Forums › Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy › Log and Transfer Deletes P2 Contents folder!
-
Jeremy Garchow
November 4, 2008 at 4:52 am[Alex Kuzelicki] “- Set up the two drives as a RAID, which makes the computer ‘see’ them as one.”
How did you do this? I imagine that is the step that has gone wrong.
-
Alex Kuzelicki
November 4, 2008 at 5:22 amHey,
Yeah, that’s what we thought too. But what we’re doing does ‘seem’ to work ie. it makes two drives appear as one. But later the footage only seems to show up on one drive.
Here’s our process, courtesy of Noah:
Go to MacHD > Utilities > Disk Utility
This will bring up a window with a list of all your connected drives.Select the names of the two drives you wish to RAID together.
Click on the RAID tab.
Drag the drives to the working window.
Set Volume Format to Mac OS Extended (Journaled)
Set RAID Type to Mirrored RAID Set
Hit the Create button.
Now, perhaps I just don’t understand how a Mirrored RAID is supposed to work – in terms of that extra backup – but I can’t find the ‘copy’.
Maybe someone can clarify?
Cheers,
ALEX
-
Dave Dawson
December 16, 2008 at 3:46 pmHey, so I made the same mistake as you. I thought that final cut was referring to the selected files in the window, not the actual files on the drive.
So I lost almost all of my footage.
Has anyone had this problem?
Has anyone recovered their footage?Thanks in advance!
-
Pedro Muniz
July 17, 2009 at 8:33 pmhi. I had the same problem and i’m kind of in a crisis, the client is mad and I’m about to loose money. Please tell me everything about data recovery!!!!!! please!
-
Gerald Crump
August 26, 2012 at 10:33 pmit is now 2012 and I just had the same mistake if deleting the file from log and transfer and loosing the originals…does anyone know if you can recover this data? no files were sent to the trash folder. does FCP have a separate back up….yes i know I’m an idiot and should have read the prompt closely but any advice towards recovery would be greatly appreciated…
thank you
JC ” Currently Screwed” Crump -
Shane Ross
August 27, 2012 at 2:46 amIf you delete them, they are gone. If you delete them from the card, you can send the card to Panasonic and see if they can recover the files.
This is why you need redundant backup (two locations at least) when it comes to tapeless.
Shane
Little Frog Post
Read my blog, Little Frog in High Def
Reply to this Discussion! Login or Sign Up