Activity › Forums › Avid Media Composer › How to locate Clips’ MXF media to transfer to another drive?
-
How to locate Clips’ MXF media to transfer to another drive?
Rosie Walunas replied 13 years, 8 months ago 5 Members · 14 Replies
-
Pat Horridge
January 8, 2013 at 3:26 pmThe issue with using 3rd party solution (especially ones no longer supported) is you can’t be sure of the result and any issues generated won’t be easy to get support for later.
So where possible I suggest solutions that use the tool itself if possible (hence my suggestion to use consolidate)But yes there are many many ways to achieve it using external tools.
Pat Horridge
Technical Director, Trainer, Avid Certified Instructor
VET
Production Editing Digital Media Design DVD
T +44 (0)20 7505 4701 | F +44 (0)20 7505 4800 | E pat@vet.co.uk |
http://www.vet.co.uk | Lux Building 2-4 Hoxton Square London N1 6US -
Rosie Walunas
January 8, 2013 at 6:00 pmOk, so I gave the Duck’s Media Move a test.
The only thing I noticed was that if I updated the copied Bin, then brought that ‘updated’ Bin back into the original project, Avid got a bit confused.
This message came up when I tried to open the ‘original’ version of the Bin and the ‘updated’ version of the Bin: “Unable to open file ‘(original bin name here)’. Exception: A copy named “copied bin name here)” is already open.”
But – is this something that general happens with copied and updated Bins that don’t get ‘replaced’ with he exact same original Bin name in the projects folder?
(Consolidation method appends a .new to the clips thus, te media falls offline… not really sure how to work that method as people suggest..)
Thanks.
-
Glenn Sakatch
January 8, 2013 at 7:24 pmYes…same as opening a bin from your attic…as far as avid is concerned its the same bin…and you can only open it once at a time. Once your updated bin is built…check it…if it all seems correct I would get rid of the original bin…everybody should be using the new one from now on.
Having two copies of the same bin will only confuse matters. If at some point you need to go back to the original, you should be able to get it from the attic.If you are really worried, make a folder called ‘original stills bin. Put your original bin in it and tuck it away somewhere with a text document explaining what you did and why you did it.
Second option is to make a new bin and move the contents from your original to it…and name it something obvious…personally I think this also leads to confusion eventually.
Nothing bugs me more than duplicate bins…that 6 months from now nobody knows why we built them in the first place.
Glenn
-
Rosie Walunas
January 8, 2013 at 7:29 pmI see. THank you for the explanation.
People have made me concerned about the ‘third party apps.’
Can anyone direct me to a ste-by-step tutorial video or written out that will achieve what I need to do?
Thanks.
Reply to this Discussion! Login or Sign Up