Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

Forums Adobe Premiere Pro GTX1060 6GB for Premiere Pro 4K R3D and Prores422HQ – Outdated?

• GTX1060 6GB for Premiere Pro 4K R3D and Prores422HQ – Outdated?

• Will Kee

January 12, 2021 at 11:22 am

Hi I’m curious to know if people think this GPU is outdated for workflows with 4k R3D and Prores? Or if it’s a bottleneck in my system. I’m a professional editor and was curious to know where this GPU sits. Currently editing on Premiere 2020 with Nvidia drivers set to studio. I appreciate it’s subjective but I’m happy to listen to peoples opinions on this.

Current specs:
    9900K 8 Core
    SSD’s
    32GB RAM

• Christopher Hill

January 12, 2021 at 11:58 am

I think the reason it’s subjective is because everyone edits differently and it would entirely depend on your editing methods and practices as to whether or not it’s a bottleneck for you and your process.

Are you editing uncompressed R3D and ProRes 4444XQ? Then absolutely it’s going to be a bottleneck, as would almost any current setup.

Are you editing your uncompressed footage as low-bitrate proxies? Then no, you’ll probably be fine for a few more years to come with that workflow.

Do your edits contain a lot of motion graphics? Fancy transitions? Heavy color correcting? etc. etc. etc. then again, it might be a bottleneck but if you’re editing documentary style with maybe a lower third every now and then, it’s probably not an issue.

So it really all comes down to your workflow. Are you happy with how you’re editing? Does it feel slow to you? Have you tried changing up your workflow to include proxies or altered your graphics usage? Do you even want to? These are all questions you should be asking yourself before you push to upgrade your graphics card.