Creative Communities of the World Forums

The peer to peer support community for media production professionals.

Activity › Forums › Apple Final Cut Pro Legacy › FCP making duplicate clips after capture ???

  • FCP making duplicate clips after capture ???

    Posted by Matt Earl on November 4, 2005 at 2:37 pm

    Why would FCP take in a clip (example: “B-roll road”) and after stopping the capture, we notice that the capture folder contains duplicates that were not requested or set up in the preferences…
    the issue ends up looking like this….
    B-roll road
    B-roll road-av-1
    B-roll road-av-2
    B-roll road-av-3
    B-roll road-av-4
    B-roll road-av-5
    ect…

    I want to continue to capture all media as one file. Any help or insight would be aprpeciated.

    Matt Earl replied 20 years, 10 months ago 2 Members · 2 Replies
  • 2 Replies
  • Bouncing Account needs new email address

    November 4, 2005 at 3:35 pm

    If this is DV, are you attempting to capture audio and video to separate drives (that’s not proper technique).

    Otherwise:
    The first thing to always try is to Quit FCP, Restart the Mac, Open your FCP project and try again.

    Next:
    THE FOLLOWING COMES FROM THE KEN STONE WEBSITE:
    “Over 5,000 years ago Confucius wrote: ‘If you are toiling away, you have changed nothing and FCP heads South on you, [starts behaving in strange ways] then it is time to trash your FCP Preferences.’ ”

    Click the following link for instructions.

    https://www.kenstone.net/fcp_homepage/trashing_fcp_prefs.html

    A great way to do this is to use “FCP Rescue” a free Apple Script that will Trash the Preferences for you (and restore nearly all of your user settings afterward).
    There are versions for FCPro & FCExpress.

    Download these free Apple Scripts at

    https://fcprescue.andersholck.com/

    This is one FCP tip that has helped in hundreds of “odd” problems.

  • Matt Earl

    November 4, 2005 at 3:43 pm

    Thanks Matte for the fast response and advice, but we looked at the capture settings and everything is flagged to capture to one file. (Like we have had for many years now) This was my first stop. I’ll consider trash the prefs. Let’s cross our fingers. I’m in sweeps!!! this can’t be happening to me.

We use anonymous cookies to give you the best experience we can.
Our Privacy policy | GDPR Policy